Browsing articles tagged with " aires"
Jan 23, 2013

NIGHTWISH : Pro-Shot Footage From Buenos Aires

Professionally filmed video footage of NIGHTWISH performing the song“Ghost Love Score” on December 14, 2012 at Teatro de Flores in Buenos Aires, Argentina can be seen below.  Continue reading »

Mar 29, 2012

Tarja – “What Lies Beneath” (2010)

Label : Universal Records

Review by Tony Cannella

For anyone who thought Tarja Turunen would be nothing without Tuomas and the rest of her ex-Nightwish band mates, than I would urge you to listen to her new solo album “What Lies Beneath”. Her second album, “My Winter Storm” was a positive first step to the start of her solo career – it actually exceeded all of my expectations. Now, with “What Lies Beneath” Tarja has released a sophomore CD that shatters all expectations, and once and for all should put all comparisons to her former outfit to rest. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that Tarja has surrounded herself with some world class musicians and collaborators. But still, it’s that amazing voice that really makes “What Lies Beneath” come alive. “Anteroom of Death” gets things off and running in a big way. This immediately became one of my favorites. The track also features contributions from a cappella metallers Van Canto who add their special touch to this track. “What Lies Beneath” is a steady, relentless CD that very rarely falters. Throughout the course of the 55-minutes worth of playing time, the listener is treated to a mixture of dramatic, heavy, symphonic, ballads and classical metal styles. “Until My Last Breath”, “Dark Star” (featuring a duet with All That Remains singer Phil Labonte) and “Underneath” are pure magic. Enough can’t be said about the array of talented musicians that Tarja has assembled for this album. Guitarist Alex Scholpp, Bassist Doug Wimbish (of Living Colour) and Drummer Mike Terrana all provide great performances, as do some of the guests, such as Drummer Will Calhoun (also of Living Colour) and guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani who adds a blazing solo to “Falling Awake”. The trio of “Falling Awake”, the ballad “The Archive of Lost Dreams” and the 7-minute musical tour de force “Crimson Deep” brings “What Lies Beneath” to a beautiful conclusion. The limited edition includes a bonus disc featuring three songs including an interesting cover of the Whitesnake classic “Still of the Night”. As we head into the last quarter of 2010, “What Lies Beneath” by Tarja will most certainly be among my favorite albums of the year.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Anteroom of Death
  2. Until My Last Breath 
  3. I Feel Immortal
  4. Dark Star
  5. Underneath
  6. Little Lies
  7. River of Lust
  8. In for a Kill
  9. Falling Awake
  10. The Archive of Lost Dreams
  11. Crimson Deep


Line Up

  • Tarja Turunen – Vocals, Piano
  • Alex Scholpp – Guitars
  • Doug Wimbish – Bass
  • Mike Terrana – Drums 



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

Mar 16, 2012

Lumine Criptica – “Fading Into Darkness” EP (2010)

Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Argentina, Lumine Criptica plays heavy, Gothic power metal. The band has just issued their debut EP, “Fading Into Darkness”, a collection of songs that showcases the powerful, atmospheric nature of their musical style. Lumine Criptica features two lead vocals with Sabrina Filipcic handling the female vocals, whilst bass player Cristian Trefny contributes growls. The 8-minute opener “You Will Never Rest” wastes little time in getting things off to a commanding start. This song features a number of tempo changes and even has a progressive slant to the track. The main guitar riff is quite forceful and just gallops along at a brisk pace. Both vocal styles are on display here as well. The next track, “The Trace of My Beloved” continues the pacing set by the previous track. More solid riffing and the duel vocals are once again at the forefront. I was very impressed with Sabrina’s voice. She has a solid style that comes pretty close to operatic, but not quite – her style is similar to Within Temptation’s Sharon den Adel. I also quite like the way the growling vocals were done. They don’t overwhelm anything and are only there to enhance the songs. Make no mistake about it; Sabrina’s voice is the one that is out front for the most part. Next up, is the moody “The Cold Outside”. Some cool changes in tempo, makes this one my favorite. “Insomnia” is next and along with the album closer “Me”, really brings things to a heavy and aggressive conclusion. “Fading Into Darkness” provides an impressive introduction to Lumine Criptica.

Rating – 85/100



  1. You Will Never Rest
  2. The Trace of My Beloved
  3. The Cold Outside
  4. Insomnia
  5. Me 


Line Up

  • Sabrina Filipcic – Vocals and Keyboards
  • Martín Príncipe – Lead, Rhythm and Acoustic Guitars
  • Andrés Bustamante – Lead, Rhythm and Acoustic Guitars
  • Cristian Trefny – Bass and Growls
  • Tomás Limeres – Drums and Percussion



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

6 color styles available:

Style switcher only on this demo version. Theme styles can be changed from Options page.


 photo 1402796831_youtube_256x256x32_zps12c9c5dd.png