Browsing articles tagged with " x"
Feb 2, 2014

Raven X – “Essence Without Light” (2013)

Label: Bat Zuge Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Holy crap! This is an unexpected surprise. The Gothic Death Metal duo Raven X hails from Ohio, USA and I have to say that on their debut album “Essence Without Light”, this band (or duo) delivers a pounding metal tour-de-force, which had yours truly thoroughly impressed and wanting more.

Even though Raven X has that Gothic Death metal tag, they also cross over into other areas like thrash and progressive metal– it is all delivered with the right amount of ferocity, aggression, anger and passion, but it also has its sensitive moments. They are comprised of two members and as the 57-minutes worth of music contained herein shows, they are two very talented people. Continue reading »

May 18, 2013

Maxine Petrucci – “Back to the Garden” (2013)

Label : Angelina Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Some fans may remember Maxine Petrucci from the early 80’s metal band Madame X. They had a minor hit on MTV with the anthem “High in High School”. Some may also know of her due to her sister, Vixen drummer Roxy Petrucci. She also has a bit of a solo career going and has just released her third album “Back to the Garden”. This is a heavy, eclectic and unique mish-mash of metal styles, and to say the least it is also a high energy, guitar driven affair.

“Back to the Garden” may be a polarizing album. Fans are either going to love it or maybe not so much. One of the divisive things about it is bound to be Maxine Petrucci’s vocals. Continue reading »

Mar 12, 2012

Hydrogyn – “Judgement” (2010)

Label : RFE/Bad Reputation

Review By Tony Cannella

Hydrogyn is going to be very, very big”, those words come from famed producer Michael Wagener who co-helmed the 4th and latest release from this Kentucky based outfit “Judgement”. After listening to this CD, who am I to argue with Mr. Wagener’s words. “Judgement” is quite possibly the best release of this young bands career. “Judgement” has everything that has made Hydrogyn such an excellent band since their beginning. Infectious melodies, pounding rockers, Julie Westlake’s powerful vocals and a whole lot more, it all comes together on “Judgement”.  “Lost Reality” is a belligerent opener with singer Julie Westlake sharing vocals with aggressive sounding male vocals. This is probably the heaviest song Hydrogyn has recorded to date. “Right Thing Now” is a melodic and instantly likeable mid-tempo number. As always, Julie Westlake oozes personality and attitude in her voice. “Big Star” is a re-recording of an older Hydrogyn song featuring King’s X frontman Doug Pinnick on co-lead vocals. The limited edition comes with three bonus tracks, including a fantastic cover of the Michael Schenker Group classic “Assault Attack”. Other highlights: the ultra-melodic “Alone”, “Self Destruct”, the Fleetwood Mac cover “Gold Dust Woman” and “Too Late”. Since their 2004 debut, “Best Served With Volume”, Hydrogyn has released albums that have been consistently better than the last. The only question is how will they ever top this one?

Rating – 90/100



  1. Lost Reality
  2. Right Thing Now
  3. Alone
  4. Self Destruct
  5. Gold Dust Woman
  6. Medicate
  7. Big Star (featuring Doug Pinnick)
  8. Gonna Getcha
  9. Too Late
  10. Don’t Be My Judge
  11. Assault Attack (Bonus Track)
  12. Dead Passion (Live) (Bonus Track)
  13. Candles Light Your Face (Alternative Version) (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Julie Westlake – Lead Vocals
  • Jeff Westlake – Guitars
  • Chris Sammons – Bass
  • Joe Migz – Drums 



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

6 color styles available:

Style switcher only on this demo version. Theme styles can be changed from Options page.


 photo 1402796831_youtube_256x256x32_zps12c9c5dd.png