Blackmore’s Night – “All Our Yesterdays” (2015)


Label: Frontiers Records

Review by Warren Mayocchi

Candice Night, Ritchie Blackmore and the troubadours of Blackmore’s Night have returned with a new album of renaissance rock. They combine traditional folk with electric and orchestral instruments in various songs on “All Our Yesterdays”. This will be the tenth album from Blackmore’s Night, over the years they have stayed true to their musical style and this album appears to be more of the mystical fairy tunes we have come to expect from them. There are a number of cover songs on this album. “Darker Shade of Black” is an instrumental inspired from “Whiter Shade of Pale” by Procul Harem. It is followed by “Long, Long Time”, “Moonlight Shadow” and “I Got You Babe” originally by Linda Rondstadt, Mike Oldfield and Sonny & Cher respectively. The original songs are generally jaunty with “Queen’s Lament” an obvious exception and “Earth, Wind and Sky”, a lovely ballad. The excellent title track, “All Our Yesterdays” and “Will O The Wisp”, have music videos. They will let you know what to expect from Blackmore’s Night if you have never heard of them. The Blackmore’s Night minstrels continue to play enthusiastic tunes which conjure a definite “ye auld modern” atmosphere. It is interesting to consider the title of the album with the choice of cover songs – covers from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s. Perhaps it is a message that we are all a result of our combined yesterdays?

Rating – 82/100



  1. All Our Yesterdays
  2. Allan Yn N Fan
  3. Darker Shade of Black
  4. Long Long Time
  5. Moonlight Shadow
  6. I Got You Babe
  7. The Other Side
  8. Queen’s Lament
  9. Where Are We Going From Here
  10. Will O’ the Wisp
  11. Earth Wind and Sky
  12. Coming Home


Line Up

  • Ritchie Blackmore – Acoustic and electric guitars, hurdy-gurdy, nyckelharpa, mandola
  • Candice Night – Lead and harmony vocals, woodwinds, tambourine
  • Earl Grey of Chimay – Bass & rhythm guitar
  • Scarlet Fiddler – Violin
  • Bard David of Larchmont – Keyboards, backing vocals
  • Troubador of Aberdeen – Percussion
  • Lady Lynn – Harmony vocals


You May Also Like


Interview by Miriam C. Behind the nom de plume DARKHER is disguised the West Yorkshire singer/songwriter Jayn H.Wissenberg that on August 19, 2016 has released her second album “Realms” via…
View Post

Einar “Kvitrafn” Selvik – Wardruna

Interview by Alessandra Cognetta Wardruna‘s insight on rune lore and Scandinavian culture has attracted an important following in the last few years, especially among metal fans. I had the chance…
View Post