Blackmore’s Night – “Dancer and the Moon” (2013)


Label: Frontiers Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

Ninth record for the band led by legend Ritchie Blackmore and his wife Candice Night. If I should sum up in a few words the new album I might say that there is nothing really new apart from a more present electric guitar and a couple songs that recall the past of Mr Blackmore. I am talking about “The Moon Is Shining (Somewhere Over the Sea)” where you can actually hear an interesting guitar solo and the closing track “Carry On… Jon” that clear is a rock attempt. I especially liked the electronic intro to the first of the aforementioned tracks. The rest of the album is what all Blackmore’s Night fans love: folk acoustic music with a Medievil atmosphere, costumes and the enchanting voice of Candice fronting everything. I want to mention the single, the title track that is really lively and the melody is very catchy! The album overall offers all that Blackmore’s Night fans may enjoy and they should not be worried about a loss in quality: Candice‘s voice is always beautiful and it is specially highlighted in the songs I mentioned above. She shows how she can suit different styles and sound sweet as well as rock. Highly recommended for the faithful followers of the couple Blackmore & Night.

Rating – 75/100



  1. I Think It’s Going to Rain Today
  2. Troika
  3. The Last Leaf
  4. Lady in Black
  5. Minstrels in the Hall
  6. Temple of the King
  7. Dancer and the Moon
  8. Galliard
  9. The Ashgrove
  10. Somewhere Over the Sea (The Moon Is Shining)
  11. The Moon Is Shining (Somewhere Over the Sea)
  12. The Spinner’s Tale
  13. Carry On… Jon


Line Up

  • Candice Night – Vocals, chanter, cornamuse, shawm, rauschpfeife & tambourine
  • Ritchie Blackmore – Guitars, mandolin, domra & hurdy gurdy
  • Bard David of Larchmont (David Baranowski) – Keyboards
  • Earl Grey of Chimay (Mike Clemente) – Bass, mandolin & rhythm guitar
  • The Scarlett Fiddler
  • Lady De Winter – French Horn & harmony vocals
  • Troubadour of Aberdeen – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like


Interview by Miriam C. Behind the nom de plume DARKHER is disguised the West Yorkshire singer/songwriter Jayn H.Wissenberg that on August 19, 2016 has released her second album “Realms” via…
View Post

Einar “Kvitrafn” Selvik – Wardruna

Interview by Alessandra Cognetta Wardruna‘s insight on rune lore and Scandinavian culture has attracted an important following in the last few years, especially among metal fans. I had the chance…
View Post