Label: GMR Music/Border

Review by Alessandra Cognetta

I interviewed Kari Rueslåtten about one year ago for the release of “Time to Tell”, the album that marked her comeback into the music scene. During this year, Kari collaborated with fellow Sirens Anneke van Giersbergen and Liv Kristine and wrote music for her upcoming solo album. In the meantime, she gave fans the opportunity to take a look at her career so far with “Collection”, a compilation of selected gems showcasing her unique voice.

“Collection” gathers material from Kari’s solo work, which could seem limiting, but the songs included manage to give a very complete perspective on her music. There’s the classics from “Other People’s Stories”, the Norwegian folk roots of “Spindelsinn”, the pop vibes from “Mesmerized” and a few songs from her most recent work, such as the rearrangement of “Why So Lonely”, the meeting point of her origins with The 3rd and the Mortal and her current style. The album is varied and balanced, giving longtime fans a worthy addition to their shelves (both physical and digital) and it providing an excellent way for new listeners to catch up on Kari’s music. The last two tracks are a special extra – two live tracks from the Time To Tell Tour. Overall, “Collection” is like a pocket musical encyclopedia: two tracks from each solo album, from 1997 to 2014. A very accessible way to get to know all the best about one of the most distinguished Norwegian voices out there.

Rating – 70/100


  1. Other People’s Stories
  2. Why So Lonely
  3. Wintersong
  4. Hör min sång
  5. Spindelsinn
  6. Make me a stone
  7. River
  8. Exile
  9. Fishing
  10. My lover
  11. Trollferd – Live
  12. Nordnatt – Live




Please follow and like us:
Tweet 20