The new album “Johannes”, from French post black metallers DECLINE OF THE I, is available for streaming in its entirety, ahead of its March 26th release on Agonia Records. Listen to the album, at:

DECLINE OF THE I is a combination of multifaceted, post-black metal and exploratory lyrics, that dwell on topics of existential philosophy. Originating from France (Paris, Île-de-France), the band was created by AK, who descends from a rich portfolio of past and on-going acts (including Vorkreist, Merrimack, The Order Of Apollyon, Neo Inferno 262, Malhkebre and Diapsiquir), with DECLINE OF THE I being his most personal endeavor yet. While the band’s first three albums were inspired by the works of French surgeon and neurologist Henri Laborit, the new one – “Johannes” – pursues a different approach based on the output of Danish philosopher, Søren Kierkegaard, and opens a new trilogy for the band. All music and lyrics were written exclusively by AK, who recorded guitars, keyboards and some of the vocals. He’s surrounded by a full line-up of SI (vocals), AD (bass) and SK (drums).

Drums  were recorded at Hybreed Studios (Temple Of Baal, Ritualization, Merrimack) while rest of the instruments were recorded at a private, home-studio. The album was mixed at Drudenhaus (Alcest, Aluk Todolo, Drastus). Dehn Sora (Deathspell Omega, Blus aus Nord) crafted the cover artwork. David Fitt (Perturbator, Alcest) shot new band photos.


1. A Selfish Star
2. The Veil of Splendid Lies
3. Act of Faith
4. Tethering the Transient
5. Diev Vide

– Digipak CD
– Digibook CD
– Black LP
– Color in color LP
– Splatter LP
– T-shirt
– Digital

AK – guitars, keyboards, vocal
SI – vocals
AD – bass
SK – drums