Diablo Swing Orchestra will unleash its new album “Swagger & Stroll Down the Rabbit Hole” on Nov 2nd. Watch “Celebremos Lo Inevitable.” 


The unstoppable octet Diablo Swing Orchestra continue fearlessly on its musical rollercoaster ride. 

The band is hurtling towards the release of its stupendous fifth album Swagger & Stroll Down the Rabbit Hole, out November 2 via Candlelight/Spinefarm, with the video for “Celebremos Lo Inevitable.” 

Watch the video here.

Guitarist/vocalist Daniel Håkansson says:

The song draws inspiration from the Mexican holiday Día de Muertos and its celebration of friends and family members who have passed on but still live in our hearts and through our memories of them. It’s our first song in Spanish and since we wanted it sound authentic, we had a Mexican vocal coach in the studio just to get the pronunciation correct.”

The spirited, progressive eight-piece Swedish ensemble are known for pairing elements of jazz, swing, classical, and progressive rock with just about everything in between. 

Since their foundation in 2003 the band have released four studio albums which push musical boundaries to the extreme with humour, creativity, and a healthy dose of positive aggression.

Their debut The Butcher’s Ballroom was a breath of fresh air when it came out in 2006 to worldwide critical acclaim. 

Swagger & Stroll Down the Rabbit Hole is the band’s fifth effort and is by far their most ambitious undertaking, which pays tribute to all four previous releases and adds some new colors to their already broad pallet of sounds.

DSO have once again teamed up with producer Roberto Laghi (In Flames, Hardcore Superstars), who has become almost the ninth member of the orchestra. 

Together, they’ve dug deeply into each of the genres explored in the 13 album tracks and worked hard to find the appealing genre characteristics to forge their own sound.

This approach has resulted in an impressive list of guest musicians and some very interesting clashes between sounds which, at least on paper, shouldn’t work.

Listeners with an open mind will be rewarded by numerous goodies littered throughout the album, ranging from the tribal assault that is “War Painted Valentine” to the Zeppelin-gospel-infused “Snake Oil Baptism.”

As with many bands, COVID-19 presented multiple challenges but also presented opportunities, which allowed them to take their time in the studio since there was no tour waiting to happen.

The mixing process alone took over half a year but Diablo Swing Orchestra are confident that they’ve produced an album that will leave an indelible mark, while inspiring others to try out fresh ideas on genre-blending. 

Swagger & Stroll Down the Rabbit Hole Track Listing:

  1. “Sightseeing In The Apocalypse”
  2. “War Painted Valentine”
  3. “Celebremos Lo Inevitable”
  4. “Speed Dating An Arsonist”
  5. “Jig Of The Century”  
  6. “The Sound Of An Unconditional Surrender”
  7. “Malign Monologues”
  8. “Out Came The Hummingbirds”
  9. “Snake Oil Baptism”
  10. “Les Invulnéables”  
  11. “Saluting The Reckoning” 
  12. “The Prima Donna Gauntlet” 
  13. “Overture To A Ceasefire”


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

You May Also Like

OU: release video for “Dark 暗”

The masters of Chinese Progressive Metal band OU (pronounced “O”) are thrilled to unveil their most recent video, ” Dark 暗” from their 2022 debut album one.
View Post