OTHER AMERICANS – Dive Into The Retro-Future With Second Self-Titled EP


Launching a retro-futuristic attack on synth-drenched electro rock, OTHER AMERICAN’ssecond self-titled EP dives head first into the delicate balance between love and power. Featuring members of such iconic Kansas City/Lawrence bands such as The ArchitectsThe GadjitsRadar State, and Late Night Callers, Other Americans will be releasing the EP on October 1, 2019. “The songs on this record are mostly about having to confront the past – my own, my friends’, and my family’s,” says vocalist Julie Bernsden. “I wanted to capture the vulnerability and the emotion that comes from trying and failing in those confrontations.”

Other Americans expands on the immersive collection of songs from their first release (2018’s also self-titled Other Americans), introducing another side of the band that sees them upping the ante with slicker production while carrying the same self-titled badge. The Other Americans EP includes five brand new songs as well as three additional remixes courtesy of guitarist Brandon Phillips’ EDM project MENSA DEATHSQUAD.

The EP starts off with “Neon Sunrise,” a song that lives up to its namesake, invoking an 80’s-splashed ride at dawn in a convertible with the top down, basking in the early morning glow. “Salt Mines” takes things in a darker direction but still wears its nostalgic synth-influenced electro-pop vibes on its sleeve. Julie’s ascending vocals plead with a loved one on the verge of leaving, before phasing into a breakdown of infectious la-la-las in the chorus.

Other Americans continue to prove they have hooks for days, following this up with the early 00’s rock swagger of “Runaway King” whose chorus will drill into the head of any listener. The pulsating and visceral House-inspired “Memory” is perfect for the midnight dancefloor crowd and showcases flashes of A-Trak and Tiësto, as well as the shady saw-toothed closing track “Ship Of The Desert” that spotlights Julia’s sultry vocals alongside pounding synths that give the track an aggressive edge.

Other Americans have truly hit their stride on this release, hearkening such acts Garbage, Goldfrapp, and a pinch of Yeah Yeah Yeah’s (especially on “Runaway King”) in one cohesive package, emerging with a unique voice all their own.

Track Listing

1. Neon Sunrise
2. Salt Mines
3. Runaway King
4. Memory (Mensa Deathsquad Remix)
5. Ship Of The Desert
6. Neon Sunrise (GlitchJoy Remix by Mensa Deathsquad)
7. Runaway King (BootlickerSub4Dom Remix by Mensa Deathsquad)
8. Salt Mines (SparklingDoom remix by Mensa Deathsquad) 
Our process definitely got more fun in writing this record – there was way less hemming and hawing about direction and more following the path of whatever felt good to play,” says guitarist Brandon about the recording process for the EP. “I got to play sitar-style parts. I got to play slashy, angular Gang of Four/Wire type guitar bits. I got to play giant-ass Lady Gaga synths. Getting to do all those things on one record is so close to Paradise Syndrome for me that I’m worried I’ll sound like a dick talking about it.

Julie also shared her excitement about the Mensa Deathsquad remixes noting, “Brandon took a different approach to each of the songs and made them truly into dance tracks.” Brandon added, “This was something that should have happened on the last record. We talked about it but it never came true. I am eternally grateful for bandmates that can indulge me this way because I just love the way the remixes came out.”
You May Also Like

OU: release video for “Dark 暗”

The masters of Chinese Progressive Metal band OU (pronounced “O”) are thrilled to unveil their most recent video, ” Dark 暗” from their 2022 debut album one.
View Post