A Persuasive Reason – “A Persuasive Reason” EP (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

The Florida based progressive/symphonic metal band A Persuasive Reason were founded in 2011 by bassist TJ Jones. After carefully assembling the current line-up, the band began work on their self-titled debut and here it is.

Throughout the course of its 30-minute playing time, A Persuasive Reason presents us with 6-songs that are of a high caliber. The futuristic intro “Unrest” leads us into the melodic “Destination”. Lead vocalist Jessica Hicks is phenomenal. She has an operatic style, but her singing is quite diverse as well. She is backed by some outstanding musicians as well including Dana Burnell who used to play drums in the progressive metal band Crimson Glory. “Carry On” and “Away With You” are both solid. “Rome in Tears” begins with a razor sharp guitar riff which carries on throughout the songs duration making it one of the heaviest songs here. The whole thing is completed with 8 ½ minute “Sandstorm” which is a pounding tour de force of a closer. A Persuasive Reason are an excellent band and judging by the strength of the songs on this EP, the band should gain plenty of support and recognition all over the world – if there is any justice, that is.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Intro: Unrest
  2. Destination
  3. Carry On
  4. Away With You
  5. Rome in Tears
  6. Sandstorm


Line Up

  • Jessica Hicks – Vocals
  • Alejandra Mesliuk – Guitars
  • Demian Planiscig – Guitars
  • Donnie John –  Keyboards
  • TJ Jones – Bass
  • Dana Burnell – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post