A Sound of Thunder – “Time’s Arrow” (2013)


Label: Mad Neptune Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Hailing from Washington, D.C., A Sound of Thunder is a no holds barred, take no prisoners power metal outfit. The band has previously released two EPs and has now issued their 3rd full-length album “Time’s Arrow”. I have had this release on my desk for some time, and after listening to it, all I can say is, I wish I got to it sooner.

The opening track “Power Play” is simply an intense powerhouse opening. That is followed by the monstrously epic gallop of the 10-minute title song. The next track “I Will Not Break” opens with a heavy bass line and develops into a mid-tempo riff heavy track with some great, inspiring lyrics about personal empowerment. Not for nothing but this song has some great mainstream potential in my opinion, but it still maintains the bands crunchy heaviness and attitude – just love that riff. “Broken Bridge” is up next and begins as though it will be a ballad before the heavy guitars comes crashing in and the guitar work of Josh Schwartz is excellent on this song and throughout the whole CD. Also impressive are the wailing vocals of Nina Osegueda. Next is the full-on metal of “Queen of Hell” which begins with some eerie chanting (“hail queen of hell”) and on this track Nina‘s vocals are suitably hell-ish. “Let’s Start a Fire” has a classic metal feel to it. “My Disease” is a great song that features ex-Iron Maiden vocalist Blaze Bayley performing a duet with Nina Osegueda. Other highlights include: “I’ll Walk With You” and “Reign of the Hawklords”. With “Times Arrow”, A Sound of Thunder have launched themselves into be being a prime power metal force. That’s not just my opinion, it’s a fact.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Power Play
  2. Time’s Arrow
  3. I Will Not Break
  4. Broken Bridge
  5. Queen of Hell
  6. Let’s Start A Fire
  7. I’ll Walk With You
  8. My Disease (featuring Blaze Bayley)
  9. Wastelands
  10. End of the Road
  11. Reign of the Hawklords


Line Up

  • Nina Osegueda – Vocals
  • Josh Schwartz – Guitar
  • Jesse Keen – Bass
  • Chris Haren – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post