Adrenaline Rush – “Adrenaline Rush” (2014)


Label: Frontiers Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Sweden, Adrenaline Rush is a band with a sound that harkens back to the 80s. Not that it’s a bad thing, to the contrary it is always cool to hear a band that has an influence from the 80s, and as long as it’s done well – with power, conviction and integrity – than all the better. With their self-titled debut, Adrenaline Rush pretty much nails it.

Adrenaline Rush is an album that is sharply produced and comes fully loaded with a great sound and solid performances. Heavy guitar riffs abound, starting with the opening track “Black n’ Blue” and continuing on with the infectious video track “Change”. This one in particular is an instantly memorable song thanks to a catchy hook, a great guitar driven groove and an unforgettable chorus. This is probably my favorite song and one of the better songs I’ve heard this year. “Generation Left Behind” continues behind a wall of down n’ dirty guitars and a great sing along chorus. “Girls Gone Wild” quickens up the pace and gives us a frenzied, ‘it’s party time’ vibe. Make no mistake about it, Adrenaline Rush are not into saving the world with their lyrics nor are they interested in whining about what a terrible place the world is. Instead, the band is into celebrating life and having fun and that vibe definitely comes through in their songs. That right there is refreshing to just listen to a band that portrays such positive energy. “When We’re Gone” is perhaps a little darker but it still portrays hope and a heartfelt attitude. Other highlights include: “Want It All”, “Too Young to Die” and “Oh Yeah!”.

Even though the debut album from Adrenaline Rush has a definite 80s vibe it is more than just a mere tribute CD or rehash of what’s already been done. Within the confines of this 11-track album, the songs are bursting with energy and vitality which is perfect for 2014. With Adrenaline Rush what you see is what you get and what you get is a lethal hard rock/metal band.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Black n’ Blue
  2. Change
  3. Generation Left Behind
  4. Girls Gone Wild
  5. When We’re Gone
  6. Want It All
  7. Too Young to Die
  8. Oh Yeah!
  9. No No No
  10. Playin’ To Win
  11. Hit You Like A Rock


Line Up

  • Tåve Wanning – Lead vocals
  • Ludvig Turner – Lead guitar & vocals
  • Alexander Hagman – Guitar & vocals
  • Soufian Ma’Aoui – Bass & vocals
  • Marcus Johansson – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post