Afterlife Symphony – “Moment Between Lives” (2016)


Label: Revalve Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The symphonic metal scene has never been healthier, particularly among female fronted bands. There are so many cool bands to choose from. One band that are poised to lead the charge is Italy’’s Afterlife Symphony. After forming in 2009, the band released their debut album ““Symphony of Silence” in 2013. Afterlife Symphony returns with their new album, ““Moment Between Lives””. Musically the songs on ““Moment Between Lives””” have a feeling of passion and a hint of darkness to them. Lead vocalist Anna Giusto is simply excellent. Her style is very powerful and reminds me of Floor Jansen from Nightwish at times, but she definitely has her own thing going on. The almost 8-minute opening track, “”Half-Moon Night”” opens with a slower tempo before rapidly getting heavier as the song progresses, and the keyboards and some nice orchestration gives this song plenty of atmosphere. The band transitions seamlessly into the next track ““The Abyss””. The vibe of this song is grandiose and even though it is 6 ½ minutes long, it has the feel of a big epic track, and is definitely memorable. “Under the Sleeping Tree”” quickly became another favorite. Other highlights include: ““My Existence to You””, ““Last Hope””, ““Novembre (Part I)”” and ““Novembre (Part II)””. ““Moment Between Lives””” is a solid sophomore effort from Afterlife Symphony and a thoroughly enjoyable listening experience. I expect this isn’’t the last we will hear from these talented Italians. To the contrary, this is only the beginning for Afterlife Symphony.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Half-Moon Night
  2. The Abyss
  3. Under the Sleeping Tree
  4. My Existence to You
  5. Broken Breath
  6. Dreamer’s Paradox
  7. Seventh
  8. Last Hope
  9. Novembre (Part I)
  10. Novembre (Part II)
  11. Genesis of Eternity


Line Up

  • Anna Giusto – Vocals
  • Eddie Talpo – Guitars•
  • Stefano Tiso – Keyboards, Piano
  • Nicolas Menarbin – Bass
  • Antonio Gobbato – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post