Amaranthe – “The Nexus” (2013)


Label : Spinefarm Records/Universal

Review by Tony Cannella

The Swedish melodic metal band Amaranthe released their impressive self-titled debut in 2011. The album created a huge buzz in the metal world. Since then vocalist Elize Ryd has gone on to touring with Kamelot on their last tour. Now she returns to her main gig for their 2nd album entitled “The Nexus”.

Amaranthe continues to utilize three distinctive vocals. In addition to Elize’s angelic vocals, Amaranthe also utilizes clean male vocals (Jake E Berg) and harsh male vocals provided by Andy Solveström.

The opening duo of “Afterlife” and “Invincible” are both excellent, but my favorite track is the energetic “The Nexus”. The three vocal styles are used quite masterfully here and this is just a great, melodic song. The hard charging riff of “Theory of Everything” comes crashing through and this proves to be another highlight. Songs like “Stardust”, “Burn With Me” and “Infinity” further illustrates what is so great about this band. There is no doubt that Amaranthe has made quite a name for themselves and it is easy to see why. “The Nexus” is a solid follow up to their debut and should further cement their reputation as one of the best young bands on the metal planet.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Afterlife
  2. Invincible
  3. The Nexus
  4. Theory of Everything
  5. Stardust
  6. Burn With Me
  7. Mechanical Illusion
  8. Razorblade
  9. Future on Hold
  10. Electroheart
  11. Transhuman
  12. Infinity


Line Up

  • Elize Ryd – Female Vocals
  • Jake E Berg – Clean Vocals
  • Andy Solveström – Harsh Vocals
  • Olof Mörck – Guitar, Keyboards
  • Johan Andreassen – Bass
  • Morten Løwe Sørensen – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post