Amazon – “Rise!” (2014)


Label: Ravenheart Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Brazil, Amazon returns with their 3rd album “RISE!”. This album is appropriately titled because it continues to bands upward ascent. It may be easy to become jaded with the many symphonic metal bands out there, but Amazon have proven to be one of the better ones – and criminally underrated – bands out there.

“RISE!” is an album that is just steady from beginning to end. Starting with “Ball of Vanities”, the bands writing, musicianship and presentation has matured which for a 3rd album you would hope that it would. Amazon managed to hold my attention throughout the majority of the album and songs like “Three Lives” and “The Path” are just excellent. My favorite track is the emotionally powerful “Suicide Note” – which features some great lyrics, tinges of progressive metal and some great, dramatic vocals from Sabrina Todt who injects the song with the perfect amount of emotion to compliment the lyrical subject matter. Other highlights include: “Prisoners of the Sea”, “Time” and “Bittersweet”.

With their 3rd album, “RISE!” the symphonic metal band Amazon has released a strong album and one that should catapult them up the ranks of an increasingly crowded metal sub-genre.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Ball of Vanities
  2. Three Lives
  3. The Path
  4. Suicide Note
  5. Prisoners of the Sea
  6. Sins
  7. Immortal
  8. Time
  9. New Horizons
  10. Bittersweet


Line Up

  • Sabrina Todt – Vocals, Flute
  • Renato Angelo – Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
  • André Pedral – Bass
  • Marcos Frassão – Drums, Percussion


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post