AMBERIAN DAWN – “Looking For You” (2020)


Napalm Records

Review by Tatianny Ruiz

With just a few days left now for the expected release of the elegant eighth studio album by the Finnish band AMBERIAN DAWN, I bring you a sweet spoiler of what’s ahead of us in ‘Looking For You‘ to be released via Napalm Records on January 31st.

An album tamed by the charms of beautiful vocalist Capri Virkkunen paired with the refined instrumental fired by these fascinating musicians, AMBERIAN DAWN sprays the class of those who use the experience of who enters this game to win.

I need to acknowledge that this band has been innovating since “River of Tuoni” in 2008, and I don’t even need to mention how generous this maturation was after “Re-Evolution” in 2013. The two years of waiting since “Darkness of Eternity” gives us a full production quality album, which means that from projection, release, cover and production, AMBERIAN DAWN has emerged to its highest potential as a band and this album will surely impress you from the very first chords.

The band already presented us before the release with their single, “Lay All Your Love On Me“, the ABBA‘s adapted tribute cover in one of their everlasting hits. An impressive sounding track in a modernized setting of shimmering atmospheres and Capri‘s fair voice.

At the same time as a cover takes place on the album, the band brings the past in “Cherish My Memory – Re-Mastered“, and although I am not fond of this kind of past context and covers immediately on an album I still enjoy what I find, thanks to lovely melodies and sumptuous keyboards that fall back on the mind gently in a truly pleasing hearing.

I must admit that the solid quality of ‘Looking For You‘ captivates me but I would still be in a little more expectation when “Symphony Nr. 1 Part 3 – Awakening” begins featuring of electrifying singer Fabio Lione. At this point we see an epic moment rising as guitars play an important and visceral role in this blunt and equally addictive symphony as “United“.

There is a certain magnificent soul around this band, we have a lot of symphonic metal bands but I usually say that only a few can make it shine like gold and AMBERIAN DAWN can reach that level, making the fast sound of “United” and the delicacy of “Butterfly” and “Universe” melodies in great timeless moments elevating the listener to a sense of unique empowerment and magic. “Au Revoir” will still give us a high dose of sweetness with quirky passages and “Eternal Fire Burning” will counter with the energetic power of Emil and Joonas on guitar and drums but all in all ‘Looking For You‘ is a fervent, enigmatic and delicious album that makes up for hearing.

Rating – 90/100


  1. United
  2. Eternal Fire Burning
  3. Looking For You
  4. Two Blades
  5. Symphony Nr. 1 Part 3 – Awakening (Feat. Fabio Lione)
  6. Go For A Ride
  7. Butterfly
  8. Universe
  9. Lay All Your Love on Me (ABBA Cover)
  10. Au Revoir
  11. Cherish My Memory Re-Mastered (Bonustrack)

Line Up:

  • Capri Virkkunen – Vocals
  • Tuomas Seppälä – Guitars, Keyboards
  • Emil Pohjalainen – Guitars
  • Jukka Hoffren – Bass
  • Joonas Pykälä-aho – Drums


Amberian Dawn Official FB Page
Amberian Dawn Official Website
“Looking For You” album pre-order

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post