Amberian Dawn – “Magic Forest” (2014)


Label: Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Capri, the new lead vocalist for the Finnish symphonic metal band Amberian Dawn was first introduced to us last year via the “Re-Evolution” album which was an album of re-recordings of older AD songs. Now the band returns with an album of brand spankin’ new material with Capri on vocals. “Magic Forest” is the name of said new album, which happens to be their 6th.

The opening song “Cherish My Memory” is gloriously melodic and memorable. The next track “Dance of Life” has another great melody and is full-speed ahead. “Magic Forest” is next and has a prog rock/AOR vibe to it. The track “Agonizing Night” has more of an epic, dramatic feel to it and reminded me bit of Nightwish. The album is concluded with the melancholic “Green-Eyed”. In between there are some other cool songs like: “Warning”, “I’m Still Here” and “Endless Silence”.

When you change vocalists you had better make sure that the new singer is compatible with your sound and direction. Former vocalist Heidi Parvainen was such an integral part of Amberian Dawn since their inception but with the addition of Capri the band hasn’t missed a beat and “Magic Forest” is the end result.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Cherish My Memory
  2. Dance of Life
  3. Magic Forest
  4. Agonizing Night
  5. Warning
  6. Son of Rainbow
  7. I’m Still Here
  8. Memorial
  9. Endless Silence
  10. Green-Eyed


Line Up

  • Päivi “Capri” Virkkunen – Vocals
  • Tuomas Seppälä – Keyboards & guitar
  • Emil “Emppu” Pohjalainen – Guitars
  • Kimmo Korhonen – Guitars
  • Joonas Pykälä-aho – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post