Anathema – “A Sort of Homecoming” DVD/CD (2015)



Review by Alysha Hayden

Popular British rockers Anathema have released a live recording of a concert held in the beautiful Liverpool Cathedral. “A Sort of Homecoming” is more than just an album, containing audio and video footage of the concert with 5.1 sound as a CD and DVD set with Blu-ray also being an option. Anathema have been through a few iterations since their creation in 1990 under the name of Pagan Angel: while members may have come and gone over the years, the line up for “A Sort of Homecoming” sounds like they’ve been performing together since day one. The cover of the album is an ethereal image from the event which captures perfectly the once in a lifetime performance. The addition of the video recordings of the even being available helps bring the event to life for those who were not fortunate enough to attend in person. “The Lost Song, Part 2” opens the recording, setting the tone for the event with Lee and the Cavanagh brothers vocals breathing life into well structured lyrics that register with any listener. “Thin Air” starts slowly with a drum beat which is slowly interlaced with the guitars before the vocals lift the entire track up to soar amongst the clouds. For the track “Anathema” the band was joined by renowned violinist Anna Pheobe. Anna’s addition brought this song to life with her haunting tones and her solo set was the highlight of the entire recording for me and a real treat. “A Natural Disaster” is a moving song about the complexities of love. “A Sort of Home Coming” isn’t something I would generally say falls into my listening genre but I did thoroughly enjoy this performance. This recording is very easy listening and I look forward to the next production that Anathema deliver.

Review – 80/100



  1. The Lost Song, Part 2
  2. Untouchable, Part 1
  3. Untouchable, Part 2
  4. Thin Air
  5. Dreaming Light
  6. Anathema
  7. Ariel
  8. Electricity
  9. Temporary Peace
  10. The Beginning And The End
  11. Distant Satellites
  12. Take Shelter
  13. Internal Landscapes
  14. A Natural Disaster
  15. Fragile Dreams


Line Up

  • Vincent Cavanagh – Vocals, Guitar, Keys
  • Danny Cavanagh – Guitar, Keys, Vocals
  • Lee Douglas – Vocals
  • John Douglas – Acoustic/Electronic Percussion
  • Jamie Cavanagh – Bass
  • Daniel Cardoso – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post