Angist – “Circle of Suffering” EP (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Luisa Mercier

Angist come from Iceland and play extreme metal, a mix of death and black. They are one of the most promising acts in the genre and it is not by chance that they come from that far island. Even though small Iceland has a real musical treasure, just think of the stars Bjork or Sigur Ros or smaller realities like Kontinuum or Solstafir. The music they play is not really that original, but it’s well played and conveys the imagery of cold, distant lands covered in ice. Vocalist/guitarist Edda Tegeder Óskarsdóttir is a nice, blond girl that belts out harsh, deep growls, you will never say it is a female voice.

The highlight of the album is “Silence” which is a more atmospheric song, with a creepy intro, whispers and doomish riffs, that leaves us with good expectations for a future second release. The rest of the album sounds quite similar from track to track, you will not find great surprises, but it is carefully composed and respects the characteristics of the genre, so fans of extreme metal will be satisfied by this debut EP, waiting for a full-length that we hope, will also try to experiment as “Silence” showed they’re capable to do.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Circle of Suffering
  2. Godless
  3. Silence
  4. Unwelcome Thoughts
  5. Death Incarnate


Line Up

  • Edda Tegeder Óskarsdóttir – Vocals/Guitar
  • Gyða Hrund Þorvaldsdóttir – Guitar
  • Haraldur Ingi Shoshan – Bass
  • Tumi Snær Gíslason – Drums


Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post