APOLINARA – “Shadows and Signs” (2022)

Apolinara “delivers an 11-song, 49-minute presentation full of heart, passion, and emotion”. Enjoy our review of “Shadows and Signs” by Tony Cannella

APOLINARA – “Shadows and Signs” (2022)

Review by Tony Cannella

Independent Release
APOLINARA - "Shadows and Signs" (2022)
APOLINARA – “Shadows and Signs” (2022)

“Shadows and Signs” is the debut release from Ukrainian-born symphonic, gothic metal artist, singer/songwriter Apolinara. Now based in the USA, Apolinara delivers an 11-song, 49-minute presentation full of heart, passion, and emotion. As the main highlight, her breathtaking vocals and songwriting skills.

The pretty, melancholic piano-led “Intro” gets us started and segues into the rapid-fire heavy guitar riffage of the opening track “Wonderful”. This is an adrenaline-fueled opener that right-off-the-bat showcases what a talented singer and songwriter Apolinara is.

“You Can’t Get Away With This” continues in the same heavy vein as the previous track; the bridge and chorus are memorable and quite infectious.

“Dragon Dance” is a nice mid-tempo track, which would make a great single, in my opinion. “Slowly” begins with a nice melancholic piano intro and then settles into a nice mid-tempo groove, male guttural growls are also present on this song courtesy of Fabian Morales. Other highlights include: “No More”, “Tears of Love”, “Shadows and Signs” and “We Had It All”.

I wanted to give props to the guitar player Vyacheslav Khabarove (he also plays bass on the record), His riffs are massive and the solos are fantastic. Also, the drummer Alexander Kasiarum most definitely brings the thunder. Apolinara has surrounded herself with some very talented musicians, there is no doubt that they contribute a great deal to the quality of the record.

Even though “Shadows and Signs” is our introduction to Apolinara, I’m sure this won’t be the last we hear from her. Her musical talent and songwriting ability are on full display for all to see and hear.

  1. Intro
  2. Wonderful
  3. You Can’t Get Away With This
  4. Dragon Dance
  5. Slowly
  6. The Smile of the Demon
  7. No More
  8. Shadows and Signs
  9. Tears of Love
  10. Slowly (Acoustic Version)
  11. We Had It All

Line Up

  • Apolinara – Lyrics, music, arrangements, lead and back vocals
  • Vyacheslav Khabarov – Lead, rhythm and bass guitars
  • Tatyana Krasavina – Cello
  • Julia Polishchuk – Violin
  • Alexander Kasiarum – Drums
  • Brien Engel – Glass harp on “Slowly (acoustic)”
  • Fabian Morales – Growls on “Paralyzed Sound” and “Silent Poetry”

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post