Battle Beast – “Battle Beast” (2013)


Label : Nuclear Blast

Review by Tony Cannella

Oh my god! I just simply can’t get enough of Battle Beast. Their debut album “Steel” which was released last year came as a huge surprise. On their self-titled sophomore release the Finnish band returns with a new singer (Noora Louhimo) and over all are just a meaner, leaner and hungrier sounding animal. As big a fan as I was of their debut, this one I think eclipses it.

“Let It Roar” is a great opener and it really sets the table for what is to follow. I can’t think of a better calling card than “Let It Roar”. The song starts off with a slower tempo before rapidly picking up speed and becoming a power metal powerhouse of a song that recalls classic Accept. Next we have some more Accept style riffing which introduces the next song “Out of Control”. Battle Beast utilizes keyboards, but they don’t overwhelm anything and are designed to accentuate the music not take away from it. “Out on the Streets” is a cool mid-tempo anthemic song and another favorite. Songs like, “Neuromancer”, “Raven” and “Black Ninja” all have a classic metal quality to them, but it still sounds fresh today. The new lead vocalist Noora Louhimo has got so much power, energy and strength behind her vocals.

Maybe I’m an old mid-80s purist of a metal fan at heart, but I really love what Battle Beast has to offer. Their sound is more than just a tribute to the mid-80s metal scene; they still manage to sound fresh and vital in 2013. Fans of traditional power metal rejoice. Battle Beast is here and they’re ready for war.

Rating – 96/100



  1. Let It Roar
  2. Out of Control
  3. Out On the Streets
  4. Neuromancer
  5. Raven
  6. Into the Heart of Danger
  7. Machine Revolution
  8. Golden Age
  9. Kingdom
  10. Over the Top
  11. Fight, Kill, Die
  12. Black Ninja
  13. Rain Man
  14. Shutdown (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Noora Louhimo –  Lead Vocals
  • Anton Kabanen –  Lead Guitar & Vocals
  • Juuso Soinio – Rhythm Guitar
  • Janne Björkroth – Keyboards
  • Eero Sipilä – Bass
  • Pyry Vikki – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post