Battle Beast – “Unholy Savior” (2015)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Review by CriX

The Finnish band Battle Beast is back with a brand new album called “Unholy Savior” and if the previous albums (“Steel” and “Battle Beast”) helped them forge their path into the metal panorama and get appreciated by the heavy metal audience, this latest release will only confirm that Battle Beast is, nowadays, one of the best bands on the scene.

But without further ado, let’s start with the opener “Lionheart”, which is a powerful song in where you can listen to the guitar and the keyboards alternate with a steady pace. It’s a triumphant beginning that introduces us to the self-titled song and follows with “I Want the World… and Everything In It”, where some killer solos take over during the whole song. Passing by the second single “Madness” (for which Battle Beast shot a video clip) and the instrumental “Hero’s Quest”, with “Far Far Away” Battle Beast show us how captivating the power of hard rock can be. But mind you, in “Unholy Savior” there’s some space for some touching ballads like “Sea of Dreams” and “Angel Cry”: the second one in particular offers its prominent part in the excellent choirs that create a particular atmosphere.

If the second single “Madness” can be the typical BB song, the first released single was “Touch in the Night”, an unusual song for the band because of its 80’s pop feel. At first it can be really weird but after having listened to it a lot of times we’re sure you’ll gonna appreciate it. We are, possibly, in front of the best album of the year, because everything works perfectly; “Unholy Savior” has all the right ingredients (from the technique, the melody, the catchy tracks, the speed to the vocals) – nothing is wrong and Battle Beast surprises us again with a remarkable album, a precious gem not to be missed.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Lionheart
  2. Unholy Savior
  3. I Want The World… And Everything In It
  4. Madness
  5. Sea of Dreams
  6. Speed and Danger
  7. Touch in the Night
  8. The Black Swordsman
  9. Hero’s Quest
  10. Far Far Away
  11. Angel Cry


Line Up

  • Noora Louhimo –Lead Vocals
  • Anton Kabanen – Lead Guitar & Vocals
  • Juuso Soinio – Rhythm Guitar
  • Janne Björkroth – Keyboards
  • Eero Sipilä – Bass
  • Pyry Vikki – Drums



You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post