Black Desert – “The Beginning” (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Black Desert is a symphonic metal band from Spain. The band was formed in 2012 and a year later released their debut album “The Beginning”.

The opening duo of “Death Orchestra” and especially “Desert Eyes” are powerful and draw you in from the start. Sometimes it is refreshing to hear a female vocalist who doesn’t do the operatic thing or the extreme metal style (not that there is anything wrong with either). Singer Isabel Bermejo has a strictly powerful and huge metal voice. Other highlights? Yes, there are. For example just check out songs like “Lies Deep Must Fall”, “Nor Me Nor You” and the great ballad “Dreams of Glycerin”.

So, I know this album has been out for over a year, but better late than never. “The Beginning” is a good start for Black Desert, I have no idea what the current status of this band is but hopefully the future will hold some more great music.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Death Orchestra
  2. Desert Eyes
  3. Lies Deep Must Fall
  4. Nor Me Nor You
  5. Dreams of Glycerin
  6. Orphaned Land
  7. Voices
  8. Come Alive
  9. Madness


Line Up

  • Isabel Bermejo – Vocals
  • Ángel Agüera – Guitar
  • Claudio Navo – Guitar
  • Gabriel Valcázar – Bass
  • Luisma Hernández – Keyboards
  • Pablo Binda – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post