Butcher Babies – “Uncovered” EP (2014)


Label: Century Media

Review by Tony Cannella

The Los Angeles based groove metal band released their sophomore album “Goliath” last year to a huge amount of fanfare. The album proved to be a success and now the band returns with the covers EP “Uncovered”. This 5-song EP shows how varied the bands influences are. The songs that the band to chose to cover are eclectic to say the least; the one common denominator is the raw aggression put forth by Butcher Babies on each and every song. The set opens with a hellraisin’ cover of the ZZ Top classic, “Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers”. I wonder if this is what ZZ Top had in mind when they wrote it. This is a devastating opener, I love ZZ Top and I love Butcher Babies version of this classic tune. Next we have an unsettling cover of “They’re Coming to Take Me Away” by Napolean XIV.

This is already an eerie tune and it is right up BB‘s alley. Next we have “Don’t Give a Fuck” which is brutal and that is followed by the chaotic metal fury of “Crazy Horses” which was originally performed by The Osmonds? Yep, Butcher Babies have recorded an Osmonds song and it just so happens to be one of the main highlights. The EP is concluded with a whiplash inducing cover of the Stormtroopers of Death song “Pussy Whipped”. With songs chosen by each of the band members, “Uncovered” is a diverse, beautifully chaotic piece of work courtesy of Butcher Babies.

Rating – 86/100



  1. Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers
  2. They’re Coming To Take Me Away
  3. Don’t Give A Fuck
  4. Crazy Horses
  5. Pussy Whipped


Line Up

  • Carla Harvey – Vocals
  • Heidi Sherpard – Vocals
  • Henry Flury – Guitars
  • Jason Klein – Bass
  • Chris Warner – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post