Chaos Magic featuring Caterina Nix – “Furyborn” (2019)


Frontiers Music Srl

Review by Anthony ‘Tony’ Cannella

Furyborn” is the second Chaos Magic release featuring the stunning vocalist Caterina Nix, from Chile. Since the release of their fantastic self-titled debut, Chaos Magic has undergone some line-up changes with Caterina Nix, the only returning member to release their equally fantastic sophomore record.

The band plays some truly infectious melodic metal, with well crafted, inspired songs with Caterina’s vocals being the icing on the cake.  In addition, to her fabulous band, Caterina is joined by some impressive guest stars sprinkled throughout the record.  “You Will Breathe Again” is a solid opener and one that gets things started with a bang.  The following track “FuryBorn” features a magical duet between Caterina and Evergrey vocalist Tom Englund.  This track sees to of the best current vocals coming together to deliver on a truly great and memorable track. “Like Never Before” is a great up-tempo track and Caterina’s vocals are at the same time, emotional, beautiful and memorable. This is my favorite track.  This impressive album marches on with the beautiful ballad “Beware of Silent Waters”.  “Bravely Beautiful” features another duet, this time with Ailyn (formerly of Sirenia). Other highlights include: “Throw Me To The Wolves”, “Path of the Brave” (with Ronnie Romero) and “I’m Your Cancer”.

FuryBorn” is an impressive return for Chaos Magic featuring Caterina Nix. The band plays as a cohesive unit and compliments Caterina’s killer vocals. There are really no negatives surrounding this release.  Just great music from beginning to end

Rating – 90/100


  1. You Will Breathe Again
  2. FuryBorn (featuring Tom Englund)
  3. Like Never Before
  4. Beware of Silent Waters (featuring Mistheria)
  5. Falling Again (featuring Nasson)
  6. Bravely Beautiful (featuring Ailyn Gimenez)
  7. Throw Me to the Wolves
  8. I’d Give it All
  9. Path of the Brave (featuring Ronnie Romero)
  10. My Affliction
  11. I’m Your Cancer

Line Up:

  • Caterina Nix – Vocals
  • Hermaunt Folatre – Bass
  • Carlos Hernández – Drums
  • Nasson – Guitars, Vocals, Piano, Guitars (acoustic), Bass, Programming
  • Franco Lama – Programming


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post