Circle of Moebius – “Elegy for a Broken Life” EP (2012)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Italy, Circle of Moebius was founded in 2003 by Paolo “P2K” Salvati. In addition to Paolo the band utilizes a wide array of musicians including two exceptional female singers Laura Prosperi and Eleonora Serafini. On their debut EP “Elegy for a Broken Life”, Circle of Moebius offers up some conceptual progressive metal with some interesting lyrical content and cool guitar work courtesy of Paolo.

On “Elegy for a Broken Life”, Circle of Moebius offers 7-songs 31-minutes of conceptual metal à la Queensryche. Also counted among their influences are Pink Floyd and Queen. You can definitely hear the Pink Floyd influence on “(Act 4) My Own Prison”, but I’m jumping ahead. The songs are well written and the two female vocalists are quite good and they definitely work well together. They give the album something special, and they each bring their own style. After the opening intro “(Act 1) 08:29 p.m.” the heavy riff on “(Act 2) Falling in the Dark” kicks in drives this energetic, kick ass song. “Kingdom Comes”, the aforementioned “My Own Prison” and “Silent Dogma” are three other highlights. The EP is concluded with the over 7-minute “I’ll Call Your Name”. This was my favorite song by far. Eleonora Serafini sounds a bit like Anneke van Giersbergen on this one the background and harmony vocals provided by Laura Prosperi are just beautiful – you can definitely feel the emotion that the song is trying to convey. With “Elegy for a Broken Life”, Circle of Moebius has given us a worthwhile addition to the progressive metal genre.

Rating – 88/100



  1. (Act 1) – 08:29 p.m.
  2. (Act 2) – Falling in the Dark
  3. (Act 3) – Kingdom Comes
  4. (Act 4) – My Own Prison
  5. (Act 5) – Silent Dogma
  6. (Act 6) – Prelude to the End
  7. (Act 7) – I’ll Call Your Name


Line Up

  • Laura Prosperi – Lead vocals (Tracks 2,3,4 and 5) & backing vocals (tracks 1 and 7)
  • Eleonora Serafini – Lead vocals (Tracks 1,6 and 7) & backing vocals (tracks 2,3,4, and 5)
  • Valentina Chiarenza – Spoken Vocals (Track 4) (Guest)
  • Paolo “P2K” Salvat i- Guitars and bass/interludes
  • Mario Torcinaro –  Bass
  • Danilo Petrelli –  Keyboards (Guest)
  • Saul Greco – Drums


MySpace * Facebook

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post