Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

In 2009 the U.K. based progressive rock outfit Crimson Sky released their debut full-length “Misunderstood”. Since that time, the band has undergone numerous line-up changes including the addition of new vocalist Jane Setter. Now, Crimson Sky returns with their new line-up and a brand-new 4-song EP entitled “Dawn”.

The keyboard intro leads us into the almost 7-minute opening track, “Crimson Sky”. The 7 ½ minute ballad to mid-tempo song “The Sea” is next and one of two older songs that have been re-recorded by the new line-up. New lead vocalist Jane Setter is an excellent addition to the band and breathes new life into the older tracks. The second of the new songs “The Park” is next and is a solid progressive hard rock number. The EP is concluded with “After the Rain” – another song re-recorded from the “Misunderstood” debut. With “Dawn”, Crimson Sky has released an EP that sees the band re-energized and ready to roll on.

Rating – 87/100



  1. Crimson Sky
  2. The Sea (2012 Version)
  3. The Park
  4. After the Rain (2012 Version)


Line Up

  • Jane Setter – Vocals
  • Martin Leamon – Guitars
  • Moray Macdonald – Keyboards
  • Clive Lambert – Bass
  • Scott Maynard – Drums



Facebook * Bandcamp * Twitter * Site

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)