Cripper – “Hyena” (2014)


Label: Metal Blade Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The German thrash metal band Cripper returns with their 4th – and possibly most intense – album entitled “Hyena”. Ever since their inception in 2005, Cripper has steadily grown from album-to-album and “Hyena” sees the band continue to evolve their no holds barred thrash attack.

For 11-songs and 51-minutes Cripper delivers a solid set of music behind a wall of thrash metal riffs and the guttural hell-ish vocals of Britta Görtz. From the opener of “Hyena” and then into the thrash metal juggernaught of “Tourniquet” the band explodes out of the gate. My two favorite songs are the next two; “Bloodshot Monkey Eye” and especially “A Dime for the Establishment” are just ferocious and display the great musical ability this band has to offer. “A Dime for the Establishment” especially has this great big scream-along type of chorus which is actually pretty catchy and what really brought this song over-the-top for me – it also shows that Cripper can write outside of their thrash metal box which should bode well for their longevity. Other highlights include: “7””, “Animated Flesh”, “The Jackhammer” and the almost 8-minute “Pure” which closes the album. The thing that impresses me the most about Cripper is their ability to change things up a bit whilst still being heavy and being themselves.

Whether you like this sort of thing or you don’t, the fact remains that “Hyena” could very well be the hungriest and meanest animal that Cripper has released thus far. Cripper could be ready to ascend to the next level.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Hyena
  2. Tourniquet
  3. Bloodshot Monkey Eye
  4. A Dime for the Establishment
  5. 7”
  6. Animated Flesh
  7. The Origin
  8. Patterns in the Sky
  9. The Jackhammer
  10. Patronized
  11. Pure


Line Up

  • Britta “Elchkuh” Görtz – Vocals
  • Christian “Knitzel” Bröhenhorst – Guitars, Backing Vocals
  • Jonathan Stenger – Guitars
  • Gerrit Mohrmann – Bass Guitar
  • Dennis Weber – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post