Label : Adore Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Born in France and raised in Los Angeles, CyLeW has an interesting musical pedigree and on her second album “Black Lace Prophecy” she and her band showcases their brand of infectious, darkly romantic and ethereal alternative hard rock with pop overtones. “Erase the Scars” is an okay opener, but it is the next song that initially made an immediate impact for me. “Survivor” is just a flat out great song which is the perfect showcase for CyLeW’s emotional vocal style. The band also made a video for it which is worth checking out on their web site. “Dizzy” opens with a simple rock guitar riff and CyLeW’s breathy vocals are the highlight here. The songs on “Black Lace Prophecy” are – at times – both beautiful and haunting. Highlights include: “Stop”, “The Good, the Bad, The Evil” and “Near or Far”. I can’t say that I fell in love with “Black Lace Prophecy” upon my first and even second listens, but after a few more it is clear that the album is loaded with an infectious charm, that is just plain impossible to deny and hard to resist.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Erase the Scars
  2. Survivor
  3. Dizzy
  4. Stop
  5. Progress
  6. The Good, The Bad, The Evil
  7. Holding On
  8. Fall to Pieces
  9. Near of Far
  10. Need Your Touch
  11. Silent Alarm (War Cry)
  12. Strike the Match
  13. Resistance


Line Up

  • Cylew – Vocals, Guitars & Keyboards
  • Arnaud Bascuñana – Guitar
  • Mathieu Zub – Guitars
  • Stef Matsu- Guitar
  • Kriss Kilong – Drums



Facebook * Twitter * Site

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)