Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Formed in Birmingham, UK in 2008, Dakesis is a progressive, power metal band. They released an EP and then their debut full-length, “Trial By Fire” in 2011. Dakesis returns in an epic way with the hugely ambitious concept album, “The New Dawn”. The thing about progressive music is you either get it or you don’t. I can understand that sometimes fans are looking for something a little more immediate and that is the awesome thing about metal, there truly is something for everybody. Once in a while however, you do get those bands who bridge that gap somewhat. Dakesis – for me – is such a band. The intro, “Overture: The Darkest Hour” begins mournfully before reaching its crescendo and then segues into the ripping “The New Dawn”. The riffs come fast and furious on this one and never lets up. There is nearly 80-minutes’ worth of music on “The New Dawn” with the most epic moments coming with the 17 minute “The Seventh Sky”. In addition, we have the 9 minute “The Sacrifice” and the almost 12 minute “By the Fading Light” which closes the album, so there is plenty to sink your teeth into. Other highlights include: “Betrayal”, “To Conquer or Die” and “Autumn”. This is an extremely diverse album as it mixes shorter songs in the 4-5-minute range with epic numbers that I previously mentioned. The songs on “The New Dawn” contain massive amounts of musical dexterity, well written songs and thoughtful lyrics. Fans who love progressive music with healthy amounts of melodicism, heaviness and great songs, should definitely give Dakesis a spin.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Overture the Darkest Hour
  2. The New Dawn
  3. Betrayal
  4. Destined for the Flame
  5. The Great Insurrection
  6. To Conquer or Die
  7. Intermezzo: Meridian
  8. Judgement Day
  9. The Sacrifice
  10. Autumn
  11. The Seventh Sky
  12. Call to Freedom
  13. By the Fading Light


Line Up

  • Gemma Lawler – Vocals / Keys
  • Matt Jones – Guitar
  • Amie Chatterley – Bass
  • Adam Harris – Drums



Please follow and like us:
Tweet 20