Dante Fox – “Lost Man’s Ground” (2012)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Ever since their debut album was released in 1996, Dante Fox has always stood for high quality AOR/hard rock. Even when this style of music wasn’t fashionable (is AOR ever fashionable?) the band has never strayed from their signature approach. There’s a lot to be said for that. With their latest album, “Lost Man’s Ground”, Dante Fox doesn’t stray too much from their formula, and that’s a good thing.

“Lost Man’s Ground” consists of 8-songs and 43-minutes worth of infectious and melodic hard rock music. The catchy, rocking number “Who Stole the Innocence” gets us started and it has a huge “Rainbow in the Dark” by Dio vibe. The mid-tempo “Go Where Your Heart Is” has a massive sound to it and some cool Def Leppard style harmony vocals. Next is the ballad, “Secrets”. The melodically rich “I Can’t Sleep” follows. The anthemic title track is next and is built around a heavy riff and proves to be one of the best songs that Dante Fox has to offer. The album stays pretty consistent throughout as “This World”, “Goodbye to Yesterday” and the radio edit for the title song bring things to a close. Dante Fox have remained faithful to themselves and their fan base. With “Lost Man’s Ground”, the band continues to be among the best bands in the AOR/hard rock genre.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Who Stole the Innocence
  2. Go Where Your Heart Is
  3. Secrets
  4. I Can’t Sleep
  5. Lost Man’s Ground
  6. This World
  7. Goodbye to Yesterday
  8. Lost Man’s Ground (Radio Edit)


Line Up

  • Sue Willetts – Lead Vocals
  • Tim Manford – Guitar and Vocals
  • Pete Lakin – Keys
  • Alan Mills – Bass
  • Andy Perfect – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post