DARK SARAH – “Grim” (2020)


Review by Cristina Gregori

Napalm Records

The Finnish cinematic-symphonic metal band Dark Sarah is back with a new concept album called “Grim” released via Napalm Records on July 17th. After three albums, in which Dark Sarah was the main character with her adventures, now it is time to dive into a new story with a different protagonist. The album starts with “My Name Is Luna” that introduces in a cinematic way the new main character. The intro of “The Chosen One” is reminiscent of the synth sound of the 80s, but quickly turns into a hammered metal line that fades into a softer sound.

Here, the singer Heidi Parviainen shows all her vocal qualities by making this one of the most remarkable on the album. After the catchy “Illuminate”, we can feel a sense of sadness and helplessness with “Melancholia” whose guitar solo in this track is really emotional.

The delicate sounds of “Iceheart” and the theatrical “La Folie Verte” keep the momentum up by developing the story. However, now it is time for the first guest which is the Finnish singer JP Leppäluoto. We got to know him already from the previous plot “The Chronicles” where he played as the Dragon. The former Charon frontman in this new story-line has the role of the wolf and in the following track, “The Wolf And The Maidenhas”, the voices intertwine perfectly during the chorus.

Whoever, if it’s compared to the previous tracks “The Hex” has a more aggressive sound, and naturally, the stunning guitar solo deserve a special mention. It is time to join the rabbit-bunny army and start to fight against Mörk, in “All Ears!” in which Luna encourage the people of Grim to believe in themselves and fight the monster that has been oppressing them for centuries.

With its melodies “The Devil’s Peak” creates a sense of mystery, while in “Mörk”, who features The Voice of Finland‘s contestant Jasse Jatala with his powerful growl, we can witness to the battle between the monster and Luna. In this song, Jasse and Heidi vocals’ perfectly represent the darkness and light. This is one of the longest track of this album and is one of the most interesting for the choice of melodies, above all the piano with the ‘antique’ effect that gives something more to the song.

“The Dark Throne” is the closing and final track. Nonetheless, it sounds like we are just the end of a first chapter of the story. With “Grim”, Dark Sarah begins with a new era marked by a mature sound and an addictive storyline. Both Heidi and her guest star, JP Leppäluoto and Jasse Jatala are perfect in creating the right contrast between their voices and Heidi‘s, and least but last, the whole band is able to transform the story in music. This album isn’t a simply a full-length to listen to but it’s an experience to appreciate and love from the first to the last note.

Rating – 95/100


  1. My Name Is Luna
  2. The Chosen One
  3. Illuminate
  4. Melancholia
  5. Iceheart
  6. La Folie Verte
  7. The Wolf And The Maiden (feat. JP Leppäluoto)
  8. The Hex
  9. All Ears!
  10. The Devils Peak
  11. Mörk (feat. Jasse Jatala)
  12. The Dark Throne

Line Up

  • Heidi Parviainen – Vocals
  • Sami-Petri Salonen – Guitars
  • Erkka Korhonen – Guitars
  • Rude Rothstén – Bass
  • Thomas Tunkkari – Drums






You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post