Dear Sinner – “Faith” (2014)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Dear Sinner is a gothic metal band from Thailand. They formed in 2000 but have only been known as Dear Sinner since 2007. They started out playing a death metal style before transitioning into more of a sympho-gothic, romantic style when the band changed their name. In 2010 Dear Sinner released their debut album “Sin”, and followed that up with the EP “Dark to Light”. Now, the band returns with album number two, “Faith”.

Dear Sinner features two female singers, although I will admit that it is hard to differentiate the two. Their style is ultra-operatic and some might feel that they are a bit over-the-top, suffice it to say, some may view the vocals as an acquired taste – but there can be no doubt that the two vocalists possess a huge amount of talent. Musically, I was instantly drawn into the intricately classical style of their compositions. The intro track “Voiceless Angel” segues into the bombastic opener “Crimson Moon”. This song actually begins with a mournful, somber vibe before transforming into a mid-tempo track which is beautifully done. There is no shortage of atmosphere on the songs, “Fallen Angel”, “Faith” and “Fantasia”. The album is concluded with the 7-minute “Silent Night Sinner Night”. This is my favorite song. The vocals are not too overdone and the music weaves a rich tapestry.

While “Faith” certainly has its flaws, the positives far outweigh the negative. On their sophomore album, Dear Sinner has written some songs with some truly enchanting and ethereal moments.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Voiceless Angel
  2. Crimson Moon
  3. Fallen Angel
  4. Faith
  5. No Pain No Gain
  6. Moonlight
  7. Fantasia
  8. Dark Fairy
  9. Dark to Light
  10. Silent Night Sinner Night


Line Up

  • Sivaporn Rattanamalakul – Vocals
  • Navarat Tangpaiboon – Vocals
  • Yongslip Phatthanasuphong – Guitar
  • Navin Permprayoon – Keyboards & Piano
  • Nakarin Phanitwong – Bass
  • Jirasak Chaon – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post