Label : Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

On their new release, the Dutch symphonic metal band Delain offers their fans a little bit of everything. “Interlude” is the title and it features new material, cover songs, alternate versions of well known songs and a bunch of songs recorded live at the metal female voices festival. In addition to all of that, the limited edition comes with a bonus DVD of the band performing live.

“Interlude” begins with two new songs. The first one is the sexy “Breathe On Me” and is (in my opinion) the better of the two. The symphonic opening to the next new one, “Collars and Suits” gives way to the heavy riff and the song maintains an up-tempo, energetic pace throughout most of the song. This is another solid track. Next is the new single mix of the track “Are You Done With Me” from “We Are the Others”. “Such A Shame” (Talk Talk), “Cordell” (The Cranberries) and “Smalltown Boy” (Bronski Beat) are the three cover songs that are up next and give the band credit for covering songs that are not obvious choices for metal bands. Next is the new ballad version of “We Are The Others”. This is a different take on an already excellent song. “Interlude” is completed by six songs recorded live at the Metal female voices fest and is a great way to bring things to its conclusion. In short, the whole package should be of interest to their ever growing fan base and could pique the interest of potential new fans. Delain has come a long way since their debut “Lucidity” and hopefully “Interlude” is a pre-cursor to bigger and better things as their star continues to rise.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Breathe on Me (New Song)
  2. Collars and Suits (New Song)
  3. Are You Done With Me (New Single Mix)
  4. Such a Shame (Cover)
  5. Cordell (Cover)
  6. Smalltown Boy (Cover)
  7. We Are the Others (New Ballad Version)
  8. Mother Machine (Live)
  9. Get the Devil Out of Me (Live)
  10. Milk and Honey (Live)
  11. Invidia (Live)
  12. Electricity (Live)
  13. Not Enough (Live)


Line Up

  • Charlotte Wessels  – Vocals
  • Timo Somers – Guitar
  • Martijn Westerholt – Keyboards
  • Otto Schimmelpenninck van der Oije – Bass
  • Sander Zoer – Drums



FacebookTwitter * Site

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)