Devilment – “The Great and Secret Show” (2014)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Review by Tony Cannella

Devilment was originally formed by guitarist Daniel Finch in 2011. Unable to find a suitable vocalist Daniel turned to longtime friend and Cradle of Filth frontman Dani Filth and soon the band had its lead singer. Devilment has just released their eagerly anticipated debut album “The Great and Secret Show” and the results are quite superb. Throughout 50 plus minutes Devilment takes the listener down a deep dark musical path with plenty of twists and turns along the way.

“The Great and Secret Show” begins with my two favorite songs. The opening duo of “Summer Arteries” and “Even Your Blood Group Rejects Me” are positively lethal. “Girl From Mystery Island” is an excellent track that features Dani screaming over a wall of guitar riffs. “The Stake in My Heart” definitely raises the stakes with a thrash/speed metal vibe. Keyboardist Lauren Francis is also on hand to provide female vocals from time to time and her keyboard work adds plenty of atmosphere. “Living With the Fungus” kind of reminds me of the phenomenal (and criminally underrated) late 80’s thrash metal band Sabbat and Dani Filth spits out his vocals with all the intensity and ferociousness of Sabbat frontman Martin Walkier. Other highlights include: “Mother Kali”, “Sanity Hits A (Perfect) Zero” and “Staring at the Werewolf Corps”.

So if you like heavy metal with a healthy amount of horror imagery (and who doesn’t?) than Devilment definitely deserves a listen. Of course horror and metal make obvious bedfellows and sometimes it can get too campy and cheesy, but that is not the case with “The Great and Secret Show”. Devilment provides the listener with one hell of a ride… to hell and back.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Summer Arteries
  2. Even Your Blood Group Rejects Me
  3. Girl From Mystery Island
  4. The Stake In My Heart
  5. Living With the Fungus
  6. Mother Kali
  7. Staring at the Werewolf Corps
  8. Sanity Hits A (Perfect) Zero
  9. Laudanum Skull
  10. The Great and Secret Show
  11. Beds Are Burning (Featuring Bam Margera) (Bonus Track)
  12. Psycho Babble (Bonus Track)
  13. Even Your Blood Group Rejects Me (Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Dani Filth – Vocals
  • Lauren Francis – Vocals & keys
  • Daniel Finch – Guitar
  • Colin Parks – Guitar
  • Nick Johnson – Bass
  • Aaron Boast – Drums


Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post