Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)


Label: Century Media Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of the above and more, not to mention he’s got a wicked vocal presence. He’s also played with a myriad of bands and projects over the years. His latest round of aural assault is the 2-cd, 2-hour extravaganza, entitled “Z²” (short for “Ziltoid 2″). In addition to Devin, the album features a multitude of guests including Anneke van Giersbergen, Dominique Lenore Persi from Stolen Babies and WWE superstar Fozzy and frontman Chris Jericho among many, many others.

Each disc has its own title. Disc 1 is entitled “Sky Blue” and disc 2 is called “Dark Matters”. Devin Townsend has worked with Anneke van Giersbergen over the years and that continues with this project. The fact is, Anneke has never sounded better and she definitely makes her mark on this record. Musically this album goes all over the map from the heaviest of metal to prog to psychedelic and more. It’s a diverse record from the word go. Being that it is 2-hours long it may take somewhat of an investment to get through in one sitting, but I was fully vested from the very beginning.

Devin Townsend has cultivated quite an extensive catalogue starting with that first Steve Vai record he sang on all those years ago and “Z²” is a nice addition to that catalogue.

Rating – 85/100



Disc 1: “Sky Blue”

  1. Rejoice
  2. Fallout
  3. Midnight Sun
  4. A New Reign
  5. Universal Flame
  6. Warrior
  7. Sky Blue
  8. Silent Militia
  9. Rain City
  10. Forever
  11. Before We Die
  12. The Ones Who Love


Disc 2 – “Dark Matters”

  1. From Sleep Awake
  2. Ziltoidian Empire
  3. War Princess
  4. Deathray
  5. March of the Poozers
  6. Wandering Eye
  7. Earth
  8. Ziltoid Goes Home
  9. Through the Wormhole
  10. Dimension Z


Line Up

  • Devin Townsend – Vocals, guitars, keyboards & programming
  • Anneke van Giersbergen – Vocals
  • Chris Jericho – Vocals (as “Captain Spectacular”)
  • Dominique Lenore Persi – Vocals (as “War Princess”)
  • Mark Cimino – Vocals (as “Poozer”)
  • Chris Devitt – Vocals (as “Planet Smasher”)
  • Bill Courage – Narrator
  • Dave Young – Guitars & keyboards
  • Mike St-Jean – Keyboards & programming
  • Brian Waddell – Bass
  • Kat Epple – Flute
  • Randy Slaugh – Orchestrations & string arranging
  • Florian Magnus Maier – Orchestrations
  • Eric Severinson – Choir and orchestra conducting
  • Prague Philharmonic Orchestra – Orchestra
  • Morgan Ågren – Additional percussion
  • Ryan Van Poederooyen – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like