Edge of Paradise – “Perfect Shade of Black” EP (2014)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Before even listening to the new EP from the American metal band Edge of Paradise, I could tell that it already had so much going for it. The EP was recorded by rock veteran Bob Kulick, mixed and mastered by the legendary Michael Wagener and the album cover was done by Ioannis who was behind some classic metal artwork. How cool is that? Besides, I thought their “Mask” album was a pretty cool debut, so I couldn’t be giddier than review “Perfect Shade of Black”.

“Perfect Shade of Black” begins with the eerie sounding intro of the title song before the song kicks in with relentless fury. Up next is “In a Dream” which is a very powerful and emotional song featuring some cool tempo changes and Margarita Monet’s wailing vocals. The power metal riffing opens “Breakaway” as the song settles into a steady power metal groove. “Ghost” has a dark, foreboding vibe whilst the song “Crash Crash Burn” ends things strongly. With “Perfect Shade of Black”, the stars have aligned quite nicely for Edge of Paradise. This is the sound of a band firing on all cylinders.

Rating – 92/100



  1. Perfect Shade of Black
  2. In A Dream
  3. Breakaway
  4. Ghost
  5. Crash Crash Burn


Line Up

  • Margarita Monet – Vocals & keyboards
  • Dave Bates – Guitar
  • Nick Ericson – Bass
  • John Chominsky – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post