Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Switzerland, the band Elferya began in 2008. In 2010 they released their debut 4-song EP titled “Afterlife”. Now they have issued their debut full-length entitled, “The Straight and Narrow” and I have to say, I was not prepared for the quality of symphonic power metal that this band has to offer. The quality is very high and just plain excellent.

“The Straight and Narrow” begins with a beautiful symphonic, cinematic instrumental piece called “Once Upon a Time”. The track really does paint a beautiful picture and starts things on the right note. Once the opener reaches its crescendo it segues into the bombastic “Fairy Tale”. Lead vocalist Claire-Lyse Von Dach has a wonderful operatic voice, but she does not go over-the-top and out of control with it. She’s got a great voice but it complements the music perfectly and doesn’t try to overshadow it. The symphonic opening of “Deep Water Traveler” leads into a track that is reminiscent of “Once” era Nightwish. This is another strong track and one that is quite memorable. “Luna” opens as if it is going to be a ballad, when suddenly the heavy guitars come in with some monstrous riffs. Overall this is a cool song with absolutely stunning bits of melody and tempo changes. With a title like the next track “Master of Death” you would think that this song would be heavy as all hell. Well, it is pretty heavy and I have to say that it is probably one of the heavier tracks – but it does also have some cool slower bits. Other highlights include: “Burning Desire”, “Butterfly” and “Afterlife”.

The overall presentation on “The Straight and Narrow” is very professional and the songs have an atmosphere and high standard about them. How Elferya has not been signed yet is a mystery, but hopefully once the word gets out there that will all change. Fans of power metal with symphonic and progressive elements – not to mention fans of great operatic female vocals – should definitely support this excellent band.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Once Upon a Time
  2. Fairy Tale
  3. Deep Water Traveler
  4. Luna
  5. Master of Death
  6. Burning Desire
  7. Mystic Land
  8. Butterfly
  9. Afterlife
  10. The Silence of the Night
  11.  Awakening


Line Up

  • Claire-Lyse Von Dach – Vocals
  • Valery Veings – Guitar
  • Thibaut Jehanno – Bass
  • Lionel Blanc – Keyboards
  • Greg Turini – Drums


Facebook * Site

Miriam Cadoni
Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)