Elysion – “Someplace Better” (2014)


Label: Massacre Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Greece, The Gothic metal band Elysion released their debut album “Silent Scream” in 2009 and now the band returns with a vengeance with their sophomore outing, “Someplace Better” via Massacre records.

The opener “Made of Lies” is a cool song, with changing tempos, a memorable chorus and a killer melody – a strong way to begin things. “Someplace Better” is next and one the finest songs the band has recorded to date. This is a fairly straightforward song with a wall of guitar riffs. Another powerful moment is the track “Fairytale”. This song has a lot of energy and just a strong groove. “The Promise” is a pretty cool ballad. Lead vocalist Christianna at times reminds me of Cristina Scabbia from Lacuna Coil, she has the same tone and range with her voice. 

“Awake”, “What Lies Beneath” and “Transparent” are three more highlights. After five years it is good to have Elysion back. To be quite honest, with “Someplace Better”, the band has never sounded better.

Rating – 89/100



  1. Made of Lies
  2. Someplace Better
  3. Fairytale
  4. The Promise
  5. Our Fate
  6. Awake
  7. What Lies Beneath
  8. Transparent
  9. Breakfree
  10. In Despair
  11. Changing


Line Up

  • Christianna – Vocals
  • Johnny Zero – Guitars
  • Nid – Guitars
  • FxF – Bass
  • Laitsman – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post