EPIC – “Like a Phoenix” (2016)


Label: Escape Music

Review by Tony Cannella

EPIC is a melodic hard rock band. Their debut album, “Like a Phoenix” is out and lays down a solid foundation of hard riffs, intricately played solos and some classy female vocals. “Love Will Find a Way” kicks things off and packs a serious melodic punch. “Like a Phoenix” mixes in hard rocking numbers like the title track, “Angels” and “Save a Little Love” with power-ballad type songs like “Sleepless Angel”, “My Everything” and “I Need You”. In that regard, they are a bit of a throwback to the late 80s, early 90s hard rock scene. The closest comparison I can think of is Saraya or maybe Harlow (remember them?). Lead vocals Tanya Rizkala has a slightly raspy vocal delivery with a bit of a bluesy influence and the guitar work by Mario Agostine is quite impressive. The songs on “Like a Phoenix” are loaded with great riffs, hooks, and the soulful vocals on Tanya Rizkala just pushes it over-the-top. EPIC is a powerful rock band and “Like a Phoenix” is a powerful record.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Love Will Find a Way
  2. Like a Phoenix
  3. I Can Take You
  4. Sleepless Angel
  5. All I Need
  6. Angels
  7. My Everything
  8. I Need You
  9. Save a Little Love
  10. Nah Nah Nah


Line Up

  • Tanya Rizkala – Vocals
  • Mario Agostine – Guitar
  • Mike Ganime – Bass
  • Souheil “Sous” Moukaddem – Drums





You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post