Label: Nuclear Blast Records

Review by Tony Cannella

On March 23rd 2013 Epica celebrated their 10-year anniversary with a very special show in Eindhoven, Holland. In fact, this was more than just “a show”; it was more like an extravaganza. Joining the band on this night were a 70 piece orchestra, a choir, some special guests and thousands of devoted Epica fans. Luckily for us cameras were on hand to capture the show and for those of us who were not lucky enough to attend, this will have to do. The whole thing comes in a pretty cool 2-DVD/3-CD package and is just a treat for the fans.

The entire audio and visual presentation on “Retrospect” is really spectacular. The opening “Introspect” segues into the bombastic “Monopoly on Truth” and it provides us with a whirlwind of an opening. The orchestra and choir fit in so well and it gives the band that added cinematic edge. This a true party as Epica tears through old and new songs like “Sensorium”, “Unleashed”, “Never Enough”, “The Phantom Agony” and “Storm the Sorrow”. The band was also joined by special guest Floor Jansen on the songs “Stabat Mater Dolorosa” and “Sancta Terra”. For the song “Quietus” the band was joined by former members Ad Sluijter, Yves Huts and Jeroen Simons. On the DVD side of things you have the full 26-song concert as well as interviews and some cool behind-the-scenes footage.

It has been cool to see how Epica has grown since their debut album “The Phantom Agony” and they have come so far since then. “Retrospect” is the perfect celebration for a band that continues to grow and evolve.

Rating – 90/100



CD 1

  1. Introspect
  2. Monopoly on Truth
  3. Sensorium
  4. Unleashed
  5. Martyr of the Free Word
  6. Chasing the Dragon
  7. Presto
  8. Never Enough
  9. Stabat Mater Dolorosa
  10. Twin Flames


CD 2

  1. Serenade of Self-Destruction
  2. Orchestral Medley
  3. The Divine Conspiracy – Anniversary Edition
  4. Delirium
  5. Blank Infinity
  6. The Obsessive Devotion
  7. Retrospect
  8. Battle of the Heroes & Imperial March
  9. Quietus
  10. The Phantom Agony


CD 3

  1. Cry for the Moon
  2. Sancta Terra
  3. Design Your Universe
  4. Storm the Sorrow
  5. Consign to Oblivion
  6. Outrospect


Line Up

  • Simone Simons – Vocals
  • Mark Jansen – Rhythm Guitars, Grunts & Screams
  • Isaac Delahaye – Lead Guitars & Grunts
  • Coen Janssen – Keyboards
  • Rob van der Loo – Bass
  • Arien Van Weesenbeek – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

Miriam Cadoni
Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)