Eteddian – “Illusions” EP (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

If Italy is the epicenter for female fronted metal, than Spain isn’t far behind. Another talented female fronted band to emerge from Spain is the symphonic metal band Eteddian. Formed in 2011 they released their debut EP “Illusions” last year. Let’s delve into it a bit, shall we?

“Illusions” features 6-songs and 22 ½ minutes worth of music. The original material is quite strong, but for me one of the more fascinating tracks is a cover of the Madonna song “Frozen”. The band added their own metal twist to the song and primary vocalist Bethany Neuman is joined by two distinctive styles of male vocals on this one (courtesy of Imanol Herrera of Vehemencia). One is a sort of a Geoff Tate progressive metal style and the other is a more extreme metal voice. It is an interesting mixture for sure and musically the song has sort of a progressive metal style. Musically the band seems to display influences such as Nightwish and Within Temptation with certain prog elements. The songs are mostly up-tempo which is evident on the soaring opening track “Dreaming With Seven Suns”. “Daughter of Fire” begins with a keyboard intro that soon gives way to heavy, pounding riff before speeding up and developing into another soaring up tempo track. Next we have the 1-minute instrumental “Prelude to Chaos” which leads us into “Pyramids of Chaos” which has sort of a Middle Eastern vibe. After that we have the aforementioned “Frozen” before the heavy “Mute” brings “Illusions” to a close.

“Illusions” is a very good album. Eteddian have put their influences to good use and added their own stamp to the material. I think this EP is a good way to start and it will be interesting to see how the band evolves with the next material they release.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Dreaming With Seven Suns
  2. Daughter of Fire
  3. Prelude of Chaos
  4. Pyramids of Chaos
  5. Frozen
  6. Mute


Line Up

  • Bethany Neuman – Vocals & Choirs
  • Samu Correa – Guitar
  • Beni Bermúdez – Keyborads & Synths
  • Jacinto Lucas – Bass & Choirs
  • Pepe Sánchez – Drums & Percussion


Facebook * Twitter


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post