Even Vast – “Hear Me Out” (RE-ISSUE) (2016)


Label: Sleazy Rider Records

Review by Warren Mayocchi

In 1999 Even Vast released their first album “Hear Me Out”. In 2016 they have re-mastered the album, packaged it with a new cover and added three live tracks to the playlist as a relaunch of the band and preparation for the release of a new album. They call themselves sludge/doom/stoner and say their music is for fans of Lacuna Coil, The Gathering, Joy Division and Moonspell. Of those, I think they are most like Moonspell here – the Joy Division influences must come with their further recordings as they are not evident on “Hear Me Out” (they did a cover of “Love Will Tear Us Apart” on their third album). “Hear Me Out” opens with the creeping doom metal of “Never Hear Me”. It is a good track to open the record as it is a declaration of strength – listen up, here is Even Vast! It is followed by generally similar songs. “Energy” is a cleaner song with the addition of a male shouted refrain, “Believe Me” has occasional male growling and the original album songs conclude with “Ru”, an experimental sounding piece. “Ru” is 7-minutes long, features running water, and finishes with band giving us some reverse played music. The live tracks are a good bonus, though the production quality is a noticeable drop from the album tracks. It is a significant time for the band and their fans, as Even Vast will continue to re-release their back catalogue and their new album. Strap in for the celebrations because Antonietta Scilipoti (vocals), Luca Martello (guitars), Diego Maniscalco (bass) and Paolo Baltaro (drums/keyboards) are definitely showing and although the line up is changed during the years, Even Vast are excited to be releasing new material with this release of the band’s beginning.

Rating – 74/100



  1. Never Hear Me
  2. Once Again
  3. The One You Wish
  4. Foolish Game
  5. Memories
  6. Energy
  7. Believe Me
  8. RU
  9. The One You Wish (Bonus Track – live in Italy, 1999)
  10. Once Again (Bonus Track – live in Italy, 1999)
  11. Over (Bonus Track – live in Italy, 1999)


Line Up

  • Antonietta Scilipoti – Vocals
  • Luca Martello – Guitars
  • Diego Maniscalco – Bass
  • Paolo Baltaro – Drums/keyboards







You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post