Flyleaf – “Who We Are” EP (2013)


Label: A&M/Octone Records/Interscope Records

Review by Tony Cannella

“Who We Are” is the new 5-song 15-minute EP from the American hard rock outfit Flyleaf. This EP marks the Flyleaf recording debut of lead vocalist Kristen May who took over for Lacey Sturm following the release of the “New Horizons” record earlier this year. “Who We Are” features one new song, entitled “Something Better” – a duet with Kristen and P.O.D. frontman Sonny Sandoval – and four live tracks recorded on “New Horizons” tour.

The opening song “Something Better” is a pretty damn cool song. The duet between Kristen May and Sonny Sandoval is a highlight. The song has a great upbeat vibe and should fit in quite nicely with the rest of their catalogue. As for the four live tracks, they are what they are and a cool way to round out the EP. The first three live tracks are taken from the “New Horizons” LP while the band reached back to their first album with “Sorrow”. Kristen May acquits herself quite well on the older material which should bode well for the future of Flyleaf.

“Who We Are” is a pretty good debut for Kristen May and a good way to introduce her to the Flyleaf fan base who were not fortunate to see the band live on the “New Horizons” tour. Be on the lookout for a new full-length from Flyleaf in 2014.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Something Better (featuring Sonny Sandoval of P.O.D.)
  2. Call You Out (live)
  3. Fire Fire (live)
  4. Broken Wings (live)
  5. Sorrow (live)


Line Up

  • Kristen May – Lead Vocals
  • Sameer Bhattacharya – Lead Guitar
  • Jared Hartmann – Rhythm Guitar
  • Pat Seals – Bass
  • James Culpepper – Drums


Facebook * Twitter *Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post