Funin – “Unsound” (2011)


Label: Karisma Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

Norway-based Funin released their debut in their homecountry in 2010 and one year after in the rest of the world. The band line up is composed of seven members and this debut album is really interesting. It is not an easy listening album, it cannot labelled in any way. We can say that the instrumentation is varied and ranges from rock guitars to electronica, from flute to strings and matches female and male vocals.

I have read lot of comparisons related to Funin and I can say that their main influences are to be found among artists like Bjork, Radiohead, Sigur Ros.  The above mentioned musicians are quite different among themselves, so you can understand that the album explores different landscapes: pop, symphonic prog, jazz, acid-folk and electronica keep on mixing into the songs. The beginning of the first track is not a hint as far as the sound of the whole record is concerned. The obsessive electronica, distorted vocals are just some of the elements of “Unsound”.

Second track “Everythings” is already different. We found ourselves listening to elegant prog rock with the constant addion of strings. Vocals are more straightforward to understand this time. Track has a beautiful final climax with guitar and climax. Much better than the first as far as my taste is concerned. “Wonderland” is more slow-paced, jazz influenced, melancholic and groovy. With the first three tracks we are introduced to the styles that will mix also in the following tracks. Sometimes they preferred to focus on electronica, sometimes on acoustic, others on different mixes altogether. So if you are into avantgarde pop or very complex music, Funin should be worthy a try.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Unsound
  2. Everythings
  3. Wonderland
  4. Tornado
  5. Last Day
  6. Inch Of Me
  7. Indestructible
  8. Rocking Chair
  9. Machine
  10. Skywalkers


Line Up

  • Marit Elisabeth Svendsboe – Vocals & Flute
  • Gaute Stedje – Vocals & Guitar
  • Oyvind Vie Berg – Piano
  • Sissel Orstavik – Violin
  • Audun Berg Selfjord – Cello
  • Edvard Mjanger – Bass
  • Mats Maeland Jensen  – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post