Ganglion – “Rising” (2013) [Type-A] MINI ALBUM


Label: Chiral Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Ganglion is an all female hard rock band from Japan. Their style is an eclectic mix of genres, but mostly focuses on hard rock and alternative which can be heard on the second mini album “Rising”.

The track “Rise” opens things and this is a pretty much straight-forward hard rock tune with a rumbling guitar riff. The next song is where the band delves into experimentation a bit. “Beyond the Screen” offers a bit of an electronic flavor at the beginning and has a funky bass line, but it also has its bombastic moments. The next track “Loser” has a punkish vibe to it and the following track “Wonderland” is a beautifully played instrumental with a techno/alternative sound. The EP is concluded with the hard rock and pop flavored “Tonight”. This is a very accessible track and one that I would point to as a favorite of mine.

Even though “Rising” is only about 20-minutes long and features 5-songs, Ganglion gets a lot across. “Rising” may be short, but Ganglion manages to get a lot out of it.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Rise
  2. Beyond the Screen
  3. Loser
  4. Wonderland
  5. Tonight


Line Up

  • Oni – Vocals and Guitar
  • Sagara – Guitar
  • Yui – Bass
  • Vivi – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post