Label: UDR

Review by Tony Cannella

Girlschool is a legendary band. They may not have had the success that a few of their New Wave of British Heavy Metal contemporaries have had, but yet they still remain standing. There is something to be said for longevity and perseverance, even if it isn’t necessarily reflected in record sales. A band doesn’t last nearly as long if they don’t make great records, which Girlschool has managed to do over their 35 + year career. It is with their last few albums though that the band seems re-focused and re-energized. The thing that I have always loved about Girlschool is the way they mix heavy metal with more melodic moments and a real in-your-face, raw punk rock attitude – that hasn’t changed. With their new album “Guilty As Sin”, Girlschool proves that they can still deliver the goods. “Come the Revolution” opens the record and is an infectious song and by the time the chorus kicks in, you’re hooked. Next up is the equally contagious “Take It Like a Band”. “Guilty As Sin” is next and it opens with the most basic of rock n’ roll riffs. The shout along chorus inspires visions of fists in the air and singing (or shouting) along at a Girlschool gig. The biggest surprise is Girlschool’s heavy metal cover of that 70’s disco classic by the Bee Gees, “Stayin’ Alive”. The band injects this song with a rock n’ roll spirit that I never thought was possible – but hey, it works. Other highlights include: “Treasure”, “Awkward Position” and “Perfect Storm”. Girlschool doesn’t STILL exist based on nostalgia, they exist because they STILL make great records and “Guilty as Sin” is proof of this. This record should please longtime fans of the band, and if you’re not yet a fan, it’s never too late.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Come the Revolution
  2. Take It Like a Band
  3. Guilty As Sin
  4. Treasure
  5. Awkward Position
  6. Stayin’ Alive
  7. Perfect Storm
  8. Painful
  9. Night Before
  10. Everybody Loves (Saturday Night)


Line Up

  • Kim McAuliffe – Lead Vocals & Guitar
  • Enid Williams – Lead Vocals & Bass
  • Jackie Chambers – Lead Guitars
  • Denise Dufort – Drums

Miriam Cadoni
Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)