Guano Apes – “Offline” (2014)


Label: Sony Music Deutschland

Review by Tony Cannella

The long running German alternative rock band Guano Apes has enjoyed a long career since their inception in 1994. Their 1997 debut “Proud Like a God” featured two songs that made a minor dent in the U.S. charts, those two songs: “Open Your Eyes” and “Lord of the Boards” certainly hinted at a bright future for the Apes. Despite disappearing from the American market, the band has continued to release albums in Europe and now they return with their 5th album, “Offline”.

I have to admit that Guano Apes kind of fell off my radar after the debut. Oh well, it’s my loss I guess because “Offline” has some pretty cool tunes and now I am curious about their music prior to this. “Like Somebody” is a punchy opener but it is the next song “Close to the Sun” which gets my vote as the best track. “Hey Last Beautiful” has a cool up-tempo vibe. The band delivers on tracks like “Cried All Out”, “Water Wars” and “Fake”.

While there is nothing immediate like “Open Your Eyes” and “Lord of the Boards” on “Offline”, it is still quite obvious that Guano Apes have progressed and moved forward.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Like Somebody
  2. Close to the Sun
  3. Hey Last Beautiful
  4. Numen
  5. Cried All Out
  6. It’s Not Over
  7. Water Wars
  8. Fake
  9. Jiggle
  10. The Long Way Home


Line Up

  • Sandra Nasic – Vocals
  • Henning Rümenapp – Guitars & backing vocals
  • Stefan Ude – Bass &backing vocals
  • Dennis Poschwatta – Drums & backing vocals


Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post