Heretic’s Dream – “The Unexpected Move” (2012)


Label : Videoradio Edizioni Musicali

Review by Tony Cannella

Heretic’s Dream is an Italian Gothic/Progressive metal outfit currently based in the U.K. Their debut album – which was released in 2012 – showcases the experimental nature of the band. Heretic’s Dream is fronted by the talented vocals of Francesca Di Ventura.

“Forgiveness” begins things and starts off slow before a nice, up-tempo riff and a galloping rhythm joins in. The guitar riff is prevalent throughout the entire track and along with the angelic vocals of Francesca Di Ventura; it all combines for a solid opener. “She Said” is the next track and features a slower tempo than the previous one – still, this turned out to be another highlight. Other highlights include: “A Kiss From the Sun”, “Golden Cage” and “A Question of Coincidences”. The whole thing is brought to an interesting conclusion with the instrumental, “Hollow”.

Even though this is an instrumental, this is a perfect example of how eclectic this band can be, and one of my favorite tracks. This is really something unique. If Gothic Metal with some progressive overtones sounds interesting to you than “The Unexpected Move” by Heretic’s Dream is definitely something worth exploring.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Forgiveness
  2. She Said
  3. A Kiss From the Sun
  4. Golden Cage
  5. Shades of Grey
  6. Through the Unlocked Door
  7. Honey I’m Home
  8. I Need Your Love
  9. A Question of Coincidences
  10. Hollow


Line Up

  • Francesca Di Ventura – Lead Vocals
  • Andrej Surace – Lead Guitar/Backing Vocals
  • Carlo Nicolucci – Rhytm Guitar
  • Emiliano Baccini – Bass
  • Maurilio Di Stefano – Drums


Facebook * Twitter *Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post