Igorrr – “Hallelujah” (2012)


Label : Ad Noiseam

Review by Luisa Mercier

I stumbled over French Igorrr (aka Gautier Serre) by mere chance on the Facebook page of another musician and after thirty seconds of listening to the linked track, I was like: What the f***k is this? He is completely crazy, dear readers and categorizing his music is impossible. He mixes every musical genre known on this earth of ours even though the more apparent influences come from Baroque music, Black Metal and electronica (schizofrenic breakcore mainly). You may think that those are very distant genres, but this is not true if you listen to Igorrr. You’ll be listening to dramatic opera vocals one moment and growls and powerful guitars the one right after as in “Damaged Wig” for example (the final part is totally unbelievable). “Absolute Psalm” starts as a church hymn, but soon turns into something completely different. I am still wondering if he sampled some war videogame… You may also find jazz, the usual extreme Black Metal and Death Metal and not only that, but I do not know how to explain to you. This is not avantgarde, it is something that goes beyond it, but has its own logic. You can see he is not mad, I think he is a genius.“Vegetable Soup” is another sample: noise, Russian traditional music, chickens, metal. Yes, chickens, you have read right. I am really having a lot of fun reviewing this, that’s for sure. It is music for open-minded people, this is another thing I am sure about, because switching from piano Baroque music to Black Metal in five seconds time is not easy.  In “Corpus Tristis”, he even privileges ambient, atmospheric stuff without interting the usual disturbing noise, so this is a proof that is just messing with us and he is not meant for the asylum.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Tout Petit Moineau
  2. Damaged Wig
  3. Absolute Psalm
  4. Cicadidae
  5. Vegetable Soup
  6. Lullaby for a fat Jellyfish
  7. Grosse Barbe
  8. Corpus Tristis
  9. Scarlatti 2.0
  10. Toothpaste
  11. Infinite Loop


Line Up

  • Igorrr –Songwriting
  • Laurent Lunoir – Vocals (Guest)
  • Laure Le Prunenec – Vocals (Guest)
  • Simon Fleury- Vocals (Guest)
  • Thibault Majorel – Vocals (Guest)
  • Jasmina Barra – Vocals (Guest)
  • Pedrou Lacasa – Vocals (Guest)
  • Cyril Torres – Flamenco Guitar (Guest)
  • Teloch – Guitars (Guest)
  • Nicolas Sénac – Guitars (Guest)
  • Benjamin Violet – Strings (Guest)
  • Adam Stacey – Accordion (Guest)
  • Benjamin Bardiaux – Keyboards (Guest)
  • Frédéric Garcia – Bass (Guest)
  • Adam Stacey – Accordion (Guest)
  • Vincent Goubeau – Saxophone (Guest)


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post