Ivalys – “Lumen” (2013)


Label: Dreamcell 11/Wormholedeath/Aural Music

Review by Tony Cannella

The French metal band Ivalys already made a mark with their impressive EP “Words in Time” last year. Now with their debut full-length, “Lumen”, Ivalys returns with an even higher level of confidence and power. The songs on “Lumen” are heavy, whilst still being melodic and have a symphonic element to them, although I would be hesitant to label them a “symphonic metal band”. They have those qualities, but musically they are a bit on the heavier side of the spectrum.

The opener “Within Flesh” is a barnstormer of a track and a great way to begin things. The heavy riffing continues with “Nothing Grows” – this is just a powerhouse song, which is heavy, relentless and also includes aggressive male vocals to go along with Jessica’s passionate delivery. Lead vocalist Jessica Donati is well on her way to making a name for herself in the world female metal vocalists, but even more than that she is becoming one of the better singers in metal – male or female, it doesn’t matter. She’s got a diverse, dramatic style and I would compare her to Floor Jansen in that regard. The next track “Haven”, offers a quieter beginning, but only for a moment as the pace picks up. There is no shortage of energy and enthusiasm throughout “Lumen”, on the songs “Disclosure” (more aggressive male vocals), “Lumen” and “As It Wanes”. The whole thing is concluded with the almost 8-minute “Fragments”, rather nicely I might add. With “Lumen”, Ivalys has turned everything up a notch, from the songwriting, musicianship and vocals; Ivalys has released a debut that is a well rounded metallic band effort and features very few wasted moments.

Rating – 92/100



  1. Within Flesh
  2. Nothing Grows
  3. Haven
  4. Disclosure
  5. Lumen
  6. As It Wanes
  7. Enclosure
  8. The Passengers
  9. Instill Light
  10. Fragments


Line Up

  • Jessica Donati – Vocals
  • Nicolas Rey – Guitars
  • Stanislas Dinnequin – Guitars
  • Loris Guillen – Bass
  • Pablo San Martin – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post